Portland Wynd, NE24

Portland Wynd, NE24

By
Miller Homes
2nd
Ranked 2nd out of 3 in Northumberland
3.57 (14 reviews) 3.57 (14 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.00
Facilities
3.86
Design
3.93
Location
3.64
Value
3.29
Management

Portland Wynd is located a 20 minute drive from the centre of Newcastle in Blythe. Blyth’s amenities include an arts centre, theatre and cinema.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

We love our house (the sherwood) and couldn’t have picked a better home for what we need.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

We love our house (the sherwood) and couldn’t have picked a better home for what we need. The actual design of the house is lovely and we have a great garden there so no complaints at all on the design. With regards to building and property management, we had a few small snags around the house but nothing major which the builders on site fixed for us and we’re great.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

it’s a lovely location right in between 2 towns with plenty open fields around to go walking which I love, the actually development area itself is lovely too. The con with being in this spot is where the nearest shop is which is a short drive but not a key issue.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

When doing your snagging list, mention and note down every single thing regardless of how small it is to get sorted out. Also keep on top of the builders who are sorting the snagging as they are dealing with a lot of homes so can forget but it’s your home so you need to get it sorted

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The builder himself was great and sorted things out when we needed it so no complaints.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good estate, could be better!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

There are a variety of property types on the estate which makes it more aesthetically pleasing, however there could be a little more. For example there are two houses of the same colour recently built right next to each other, it would have been better to have some differences. Parking bays are minimal, some could definitely been made into double ones to use the space more efficiently. We have had difficulty getting things finished on our property and are constantly put on the back burner. We have been waiting some weeks now for things to be sorted and it is getting tedious asking all the time.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The quality of the wider local area is great, close to the beach with some nice walks. It is also close to other coastal areas which is great! With regards to immediate area outside of the development, it could be better. There are only buses available but in other areas a metro service is present. Our street is lovely, however parking availability for guests is minimal. If each house had one guest with a car, they wouldn’t all be able to park close by. More parking would be ideal!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How long things take to be fixed.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have responded but not in a very timely manner. Considering the price of the houses, you would expect the very best.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Miller Homes . A considerate builder.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

We have bought new builds on several previous occasions and this has been the best in terms of customer service before and after purchase. In the middle of purchase my wife had to go in to hospital and was diagnosed with cancer. She needed an emergency operation scheduled for 3 weeks after completion. Given the situation the builders kindly gave us permission to move items into the property on completion day before actual completion. This was of great help and much appreciated

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A little remote but I believe that a supermarket chain is considering a branch nearby. The opening up of the rail network at Newsham would also benefit the estate. The street is relatively quiet but the proximity to the Laverock which is a main route to Cramlington hospital A&E makes it occasionally noisy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

One thing make sure any potential purchase is fully mirrored in any show home of the same type that you may view. Sometimes certain items are changed.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Site foreman has always responded to any issues promptly and efficiently.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place to live with very few draw backs

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The design is great but the facilities are lacking. There are very few visitor spaces, green areas, no play parks so kids are often in the streets. It’s hard to get miller out to do a job and when they eventually do it takes longer than expected. I am yet to see any maintenance on the surrounding areas of my property.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Blyth is an up and coming are with a money being put into a new through road, rail service as well as new shops and restaurants opening at the beach. It’s situated on the coast but is only a stones throw away from Newcastle city centre. Personally the noise and parking is fine but there are more and more cars parking on the road throughout the streets.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing much, the process was transparent and all points covered. I was however unaware that a new development was going to be built just over the next field.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have but I am still awaiting repair works to be carried out to my shower.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very poor build quality

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The house looks fine but there are build quality problems. Some of the house does not comply with building regulations or water regulations and Millers are not interested once they have your money. It has taken 8 weeks and several visits to repair minor faults and the major ones have not been addressed yet. I have even rung Millers head office after the local site supervisor and repair team did not respond to emails, phone calls or texts and Millers head office have not responded to my complaint. I am going to ask building control to check my house as i no longer have any confidence in Miller homes. I have given 1 star on some of the comments only as i could not give zero stars

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are no real facilities at our development especially for children. The parking is difficult we have a 4 bedroom house but only 1 parking space. The only public transport is a single bus stop on the edge of the estate.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If i had known how bad the customer care was i probably wouldnt have bought the house. Think twice before you buy from this company the houses are thrown up

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management company are very poor. They send plumbers out who do not carry basic equipment or materials to perform minor repairs. The also dont answer the phone and there is no communication relating to the progress of any repair you have to keep phoning over and over with little joy

1
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A lovely new build estate by Miller

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

As my 1st new build I was worried, but the quality has been excellent so far with few snags. Any found have been dealt with by millers.
Plenty of storage in my home, and while not huge, manages myself and my two children well

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are shops nearby in Newsham, and also a seafront cafe only a few minutes down the road.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Front lawn quality is poorer than expected

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have actioned any issues I have found quickly

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Our first home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Average.
When we first moved in we had difficulty getting snagging done when we both worked full time.
No faculties to the site.
Security on site every so often to check over the buildings that are still in process.
Design of estate is good, different styles of houses all match.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Poor. Local shop is 15 minute walk, after that there are no other local amenities. Parking is poor due to the number of cars vs. spaces to a property.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there was not going to be speed bumps on our road even though the site plan eludes to this.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Responded but frequently had to be chased and difficult arrange around two full time jobs.

2
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Happy buyer.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Good style property and appealing from the outside. Only downside is in the yare there is very little space for storage. Long delays when reporting repairs to getting them fixed within the 2 year guarantee. Overall happy with the development and really helpful sales team when I purchased my property.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Issues with parking through the estate. The drives are not big enough and not enough parking bays. Meaning lots of vechiles parking on curbs. Issue with traffic into the estate as only one road into the estate.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Issues with parking and trouble of getting out/in the estate.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

One of my snagging is still not fixed however it does not bother me so stopped chasing this up.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice place to live.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Overall, this is a nice development, with a range of house styles. The house I purchased is excellent, with no issues. It will be nice when all the development work is finished and the proper road surfaces have been laid but overall, I have no complaints and I am happy to be living here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The site is only a few minutes drive from the sea, which is excellent. Living on the site is generally good – low traffic and decent neighbours. You do need a car to live here though as there are no shops within easy walking distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known that the gate on the walkway from the neighbouring estate was not going to be permanent as there have been some instances of ASB from residents there.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes – there were a few minor issues when we moved in and the site staff went above and beyond to sort them out.

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great friendly housing estate

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

More street parking is the only issue the whole design is rather good just wider roads would be great. Building design and spec is all perfect to me. If the gardens were done properly instead of grass on top of clay rubble that would be so much better so I would suggest not to opt for grass if you are buying a new home and have your gardener do the grass.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great access 2 minutes to the a19, plenty shops and pubs etc all very close by. Street is all very friendly with lovely neighbours. Only downside would be lack of parking on the street they haven’t took in concideration that most family’s have 2 cars and then guests. Houses are very thin so you do hear banging and doors closing but you can not hear talking and normal noise so as expected with new builds

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Lack of parking

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 31

3.99

Average rating based on 284 reviews

View company