About Citu Homes

Citu create modern homes with a focus on sustainability and tackling climate change. Their home designs aim to be as energy efficient as possible and feature Scandinavian design using timber, recycled glass wool and triple gazed windows along with other efficient insulation to minimise the home’s carbon footprint. Each Citu development also has solar arrays co-owned by all the residents, to provide a source of clean, renewable energy.

Number of Developments

2

Ratings

3.73 Rating

Rating (based on 15 reviews)

Excellent

26.67%

Very Good

33.33%

Average

26.67%

Disappointing

0.00%

Very Poor

13.33%

Developments

MAP

Showing all 2 developments

Citu Homes reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Verified
Showing 15 reviews

Lovely eco development, problems with developer

This award winning eco development has beautifully designed houses. It is supposed to be a Community Interest Company, meaning that residents have a say in issues with the design, facilities and management. This hasn’t happened, however, and it has been difficult to get the developer to respond to issues. The development is about 60% completed, and the earlier houses experienced a number of issues. With regard to heating, the houses are nearly airtight. They do an excellent job of recirculating warm air and cleaning the air, but they won’t cool the air. The triple glazing raises the temperature in *all* of the houses during sunny weather, bringing temperatures inside up to 26-28 degrees. The developer refused to install awnings. The heating is in the walls (with the aim of heating the structure rather than the air in the house). While this means the house retains heat, it also means that the house takes time to warm up after it has cooled. Forward planning is needed to maintain an even heat. The houses are well insulated, which means that they are nearly soundproof. Residents reported a number of issues during the snagging period, which included: leaks in the walls, gaps in floorboards, water which would not maintain temperature because of faulty installation of mixer taps, smoke alarms that could not be turned off. While some issues were addressed, many were not a year after the snagging deadline. This means that residents have to do repairs at their own expense. The structural insurance for new builds expired after the insurance company went bankrupt, and the developer would not replace the insurance (or provide the information needed for residents to get their own insurance). Security is difficult to maintain in the shared garage due to ongoing problems with the door; the developer has been slow to respond. The property management company is excellent but hindered by slow responses from the developer.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent local delicatessen, one convenience store, supermarkets are located further away. A great range of restaurants and bars. No green space. All of the empty lots have been purchased by developers and residents have expressed concern about high density housing plans. Excellent transport links; very limited public parking. Traffic noise is low as the streets are pedestrianised with access limited to residents cars. Some anti-social behaviour on weekends after pubs close.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would ask for feedback from the residents. This may however be difficult to obtain as people are concerned about property values.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management company (which is independent of the developer) does an excellent job addressing anything related to ongoing security and maintenance. They try to bring issues with the original design to the attention of the developer but have been largely unsuccessful.

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place to live

The design of the site is simplistic and unalike anything else you’d see in the UK. One of the best features is probably the fresh herbs, fruit and veg growing around the site for the residents. The decking by the river is also a nice spot to relax in the summer.

The groundskeeping is good quality, although the repairs and management of the building site, car park and houses can be quite slow and inefficient. The car park is covered in dust and nails have been found on the floor, which have damaged many cars.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

10 minutes walk into Leeds city centre where there a huge range of nice restaurants, bars and shops. Very easy to also get a taxi along the A61, however it can be difficult for some drivers to find the site car park.

The site has a friendly atmosphere with nice groundskeeping. However due to the area being a building site, the car park floods a lot and is very dusty.

Overall it’s a great and safe place to live with minor noise from the building works and main road.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wasn’t aware of how close the community was going to be in terms of contacting each other through WhatsApp and Slack groups.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management is often slow and inefficient but gets done eventually.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  Climate Innovation District, LS9
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Extremely poor.

Overall the management is horrendous, so many things went wrong with the house and it took weeks and months even to get stuff finished. The bathroom door lock has already broken causing someone to get locked inside the bathroom and it’s not covered As it’s been 1 year and general ‘wear and tear’ is not covered, even though the lock literally would not open and that’s not wear and tear that’s just poor fittings and quality. There is now a leak coming from the roof causing damp patches on the ceiling when it rains, the heating is a nightmare it’s either freezing or boiling hot, to get hold of the management team is almost impossible as they do not reply. Overall so poor.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local shops are limited, there is one walking distance probably. Quite far walk from the train station, parking is a nightmare in the underground car park, bins are always overflowed and take a lot of space in the car park. The bottle bin is at the entrance which is very far away from the houses for some strange reason. The cars get all dirty and damaged due to the car parks condition and works still going on, the car park floor is almost a river when it rains it’s ridiculous.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Just how horrendous management were, the amount of issues faced, the horrendous conditions of the car park and parking, don’t be prepared to move in and everything be fine.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Poorly, it’s hard to get hold of anyone in management and they always shift the blame to someone else that seems to have left the business. Management then send round differnet workers every time who all do the work differently and all do not understand why the previous person who came did it that way, then they can’t ask because that persons left!

2
Facilities
2
Design
3
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

“Innovative” Development.

The ethos and vision of the development is great and is what sold us in the development. The execution and management has room for improvement. There have been several delays in works being completed and things have not always been to the expected good standard. Remediation works are in progress, but taking longer than we’d like.
Overall the location, community and house design means that we are happy to be here and look forward to the development being completed to a good standard.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location is walking distance to city centre where one can find several shops, restaurants and bars. As the overall site is still relatively new and work in progress, access and external visibility (eg. to taxi drivers and delivery drivers) is poor but should improve as the construction work clears in the coming months.
The finished streets where the houses are on are beautiful, safe and landscaped with a variety of plants and vegetables.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The neighbourhood and neighbours have been a lot friendlier and helpful than we expected. The landscaping is great and it is a safe community to live in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Management has been slow to acknowledge issues and take necessary actions. It is evident that their processes are being improved on, it just takes time.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More