The Slate Yard, M3

By
Legal & General, Urbanbubble
5th
Ranked 5th out of 36 in Manchester
4.65 (based on 69 reviews) 4.65 (69 reviews)

Category Scores

4.74
Facilities
4.54
Design
4.65
Location
4.32
Value
4.77
Management

Excellent

77%

Very Good

22%

Average

1%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

The Slate Yard is a Build to Rent development located in Spinningfields, Manchester’s city centre and only a 6-minute walk away from Salford Central. Residents have access to a wide range of facilities including a 24 hour on-site team, a residents’ gym, housekeeping services and a residents’ lounge. The development is also pet friendly.

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
From £895 pcm
One Bed Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
461 sq ft
Urbanbubble
More info
From £1,200 pcm
Two Bed Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
687 sq ft
Urbanbubble
More info
From £1,800 pcm
Three Bed Apartment
3 Bed
2 Bath
921 sq ft
Urbanbubble
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 69 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

A Contemporary Place to Live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Simple, contemporary and posh interior design. Complementary but quality tea and coffee are provided in the communal areas together with entertainment facilities. The management team is always responsive, friendly and helpful, i.e. 24/7 reception gives peace of mind, home maintenance can be done within expected time frame, etc.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area’s still under development, so construction noise, vibration and dust are unavoidable. It’s nor far from city centre, many grocery shops, supermarkets, restaurants, pubs, high street retailers are within walking distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

almost everything was communicated clearly before moved in

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

a storage room could be in the flat, and roller window blinds could be wider.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your Homeviews survey on The Slate Yard.

I appreciate your comments about the team and I will make sure these are shared with them.

We are always looking at ways to improve and I value your comments about the storage room and blinds.

Our new building – A7 The Flint, has additional storage in certain apartments which I am sure will be a welcomed addition.

Have a wonderful day & kind regards

Stuart

The Slate Yard

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

I have lived at the Slate Yard for the last 12 months and could not be happier, My main criteria when I looked for an apartment was lots of natural light and a balcony, I have floor to ceiling windows and a large balcony with breathtaking views of the city all the way to the peak district

The on site gym is full of the latest equipment and is never too busy and together with the residents lounge and the most friendly on site staff I understand why the Slate Yard is known as one of the best developments in the city

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Perfect for Spinning Fields restaurants and bars , gyms and easy access out of town

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

None of any note

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Always and quickly, whenever a repair needs doing and during lock down the management listened to the tenants concerns and acted positively

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi!
Thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I’m so glad that you love your apartment and access to the facilities. I’ll ensure that your wonderful feedback is shared with the team. I’m sure they will be over the moon.
Thank you again!

Relocation to Mancheter

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The apartment layout works really well and i love the contrast with the oak floor and fixtures and fittings, it adds depth and a quality feel.
I’ve used the gym a couple of times already along with the communal area for some work during the day.
The staff and management have been amazing, extremely friendly and helpful which, when relocating to a new city has made the transition easier.
Before i even arrived, i knew the service i was going to get just via phone calls. and i wasn’t disappointed.
The team have been amazing responsive and are making the dogs feel welcome too.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I needed a pet friendly apartment with available/nearby parking and after looking at what Manchester had to offer settled on her as the location and facilities on site ticked all the boxes.
Local amenities in the area are great with lots of places within walking distance for bigger or top up shops. Nearby pedestrian areas a small parks are also great for walking the dogs with larger parks on the doorstep when needed.
Spinningfields has lots of bars and restaurants, again all within walking distance and I’m looking forward to giving them try.
I knew location would be good, but have been even more surprised living here just how accessible everywhere is, from road / motorway access to walking into the center of the city.
areas.
There is still a lot of development going on here but that’s to be expected with the level of investment in the area

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The illuminated Premier Inn sign was brighter than i expected it to be!

What is the best feature of your home:

The finish throughout the apartment is great, from the bathroom / en suite to living area…. great contrast of materials. The sound proofing is amazing which is needed in the center of the city and the ventilation system keeps air circulating

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi,
Thanks for your glowing review! I am so glad that you and your dogs are settling into our community. If you ever need recommendations of things to do or places to eat and drink our resident services team have a wealth of local knowledge and you may even find a hidden gem. Thanks for your comments about our team. I’ll pass these onto them today and I know they will be delighted. As always if we can help in any way please get in touch.

Great area and living environment

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The development is great and the staff are friendly and attentive. The building design is modern and light, not too compact or dingy like other developments.

Facilities are good and the help provided by managers is always excellent. Overall a really fun place to live, with lots of friendly faces.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I enjoy being close to the city centre and with restaurant and shops just a few minutes walk from my building.

The worst thing about the area is the insane parking prices which make it hard for visitors and anyone that owns a car.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How cold certain rooms can get during winter, especially ones with larger windows.

What is the best feature of your home:

Seperate large and en suite bathrooms are great for people sharing the apartment. The optional furniture is also very useful.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hey,
Thanks for your wonderful review. We’re thrilled that you love living at The Slate Yard. We feel that community is incredibly important and it is at the heart of everything we do. We’re looking forward to re-launching our events programme over the next few weeks so keep an eye out on our residents group and social media for more information.

Nice community and amazing managament and support team

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Very good location, close to Manchester City Centre with a good access to public transport. Amazing and very helpful Building management and support team. We also appreciate the nice and quiet tenant community. Nicely designed and comfortable appartment to live in. Very satisfied.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very good location, close to Manchester City Centre with a good access to public transport. Amazing and very helpful Building management and support team.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Very nice community, great location, and amazing and very helpful Buildingb management and support team.

What is the best feature of your home:

Very nice community, great location, and amazing and very helpful Buildingb management and support team.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon,
Thank you so much for your kind review. I’m delighted to hear that you’re so happy in your home. I’ll feedback your comments to the team. If we can do anything to help please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Thanks Again

The slate yard

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

We have lived here for over two years and absolutely love it! The staff are friendly and the flats are modern and spacious! Its very homely and we really feel like we are part of a little community. The staff always go that extra mile. We can’t fault it!!!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of bars and restaurants around the area. Local tram stops near by as well as being close to the train station.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How close it is to everything you need!

What is the best feature of your home:

The fact that furniture is included and it’s nice furniture!

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hey!
Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We’re really pleased that you’re enjoying your home. I’ll share your comments with the team and I’m sure they will be delighted. If we can do anything to help you please let us know!
Thanks again and have a wonderful day

Happy Resident of 3 years

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The property, location and quality of the Slate Yard is second to none. The thing that really set’s the Slate Yard apart is the management, running and staff. From the staff who keep the place clean to the concierge team on the front desk to the management, the events that have been run in the time I’ve been at the Slate Yard. It really feels like a community and that the staff here genuinely care about the residents. John, Trudy, Carl and Stuart are members of the team I have the most interaction with and they are a credit to the company and an example to customer service businesses. Full Five Stars from me!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location wise, the Slate Yard has every option you could possibly need in walking distance and transport links to the World on your doorstep. There’s a local independent store, Co-op and Tesco, all manner of bars and restaurants, Manchester City centre shopping is a 5 minute walk from here. Theatres and gig venues are just around the corner, from the MEN to the Opera House.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wasn’t aware of how much building work was about to happen in the immediate vicinity, but to be fair, there is building work all over the city, it’s just become a part of city life, if I need total peace and quiet 24/7, I would have moved to the Clitheroe or the Peak District.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have had very few problems, we had a slight issue with a Washing machine and it was replaced in the same day. 100% for service.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello!
Thank you so much for your review. We’re so happy to have you as part of our community. It’s amazing to hear such incredible feedback for our team, I’ll ensure that your comments are passed on and I’m certain they will be thrilled. As ever, if we can help you in any way please feel free to get in touch.

Have a wonderful day and thanks again.

A Solid Home Base

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The Slate Yard is an excellent residential apartment complex that is conveniently located. The apartments receive ample natural light and are well fitted. The onsite staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The residents that live in the complex are also nice and considerate. Overall a good place to live.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The building is located close enough to the city centre to access all of the area’s offerings by foot but removed from the noise and commotion. The area is serviced by two tram stops that are each a 10 minute walk and has ample grocery stores nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known more about the area. We moved to the Slate Yard from abroad and were not able to visit in person and had never been to Manchester. Before moving in, we spent a lot of time on Google searching Spinningfields and the city centre but it would have been helpful to know more about the community and surrounding area.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of the apartment were the large floor to ceiling windows that supplied brilliant natural light. Our flat faced south and received light all day.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon,
Thank you so much for your review. We’re delighted that you enjoy being part of our community. Our resident services team will always be more than happy to point you in the right direction for things to do and places to eat and drink nearby, we also have some fantastic offers from venues just a couple of minutes walk away exclusively for residents. If you ever need anything please feel free to get in touch.

Have a great day!

10 years in Manchester. The best of them spent here.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

I have lived here at The Slate Yard for almost 3 years now, having been based in Manchester City centre for 10 years. This is most definitely the best property I have lived at in terms of location, and general design and living standards. Most importantly is the feeling of community here, which I think is really helped by residents lounge and by the allowing of pets, Last but not least are the management team, and the guys on the front desk. We have built a real bond a rapport with them over the years and they have probably been the biggest reason behind why we stay year on year.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

This area really works for me as I work in the centre of the city so I can walk everywhere I need to get to with only the occasional cause to use public transport of cabs, but when I do, the links to trains/trams/buses are a stones throw away. I’m also surrounded by some fantastic bars/restaurants and am mines away from all the city centre shopping in Manchester. Location couldn’t be better really. Plus being on the river gives living in the city a slightly more calm an peaceful feeling. The only downside to the location is the constant construction work, but I don’t think you could find a spot in Manchester where you wouldn’t be right next to something being built right now.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there would be constant construction work 8-9 hours a day 7 days a week… As I work from home in the day it has a real impact on me, perhaps not so much for people who work away for the apartment in the day. Lack of affordable parking is a real issue. If there was a better long term deal worked out with NCP it would be a huge bonus to living here.. A 50% discount or something along those lines. would be a good incentive to new residents.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Realistically the only thing I would personally change would be the price point. Given the current situation and the current market, I thin kit would fairly reflect what is happening in Manchester.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi,
Thank you very much for your kind words. Community is such an important thing to us and is at the heart of everything that our team does. I’ll be sure to pass your comments onto them. We’re looking forward to bring community events back to The Slate Yard in the next couple of weeks so keep an eye out for further announcements. As always, if we can be of any help please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Many Thanks

Great place to live.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The property management is excellent. The staff are extremely helpful and attentive, going out of their way to help every tenant. The building itself is finished to a high standard, however does have a few design issues such as the window sills making a lot of noise when the rain hits them, and a few fittings of the flat appear to be quite fragile. The facilities are excellent, however the gym could do with a squat rack to make it 5/5! Spacious flats and good value for money.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Spinningfields feel. On the river. Salford Central train station round the corner. Middlewood locks just a 6 minute walk away.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No soft furnishings come with the flat, however if you ask you can generally get given them.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have tried to fix our issues immediately, calling external companies in the same day. When we moved in the Wi-fi didn’t work and they contacted Virgin for us to ammend the issue straight away.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hey!
Thanks for your lovely review. We’re so happy that you enjoy living here. I’ll pass your comments on to the team here too!

As part of our new building, flint, our gym facilities will be expanding to more than double the size that we currently have. We will be sharing updates on this in the coming weeks so keep an eye out for the announcements.

Have a great day and speak soon!

Euan

In short, a great place to live.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The facilities are brilliant, we often use the gym, and acces to sky sports in the communal are on a big screen tele is a great added bonus. The building management team are always there to help and solve issues quickly. The team are more than happy to go out of their way to ensure you are as comfortable as possible.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Public amenities are in general great. However, the surrounding building works are loud and disruptive. Works and deliveries often start before 7am, even on Saturdays and often go on past 7pm in the evening, which I believe could be breaking the Site works planning approval conditions.

What is the best feature of your home:

The apartments are well designed and the furnishings are contemporary. The windows are large and allow for a lot of natural light.

5
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi,

Thanks for completing your review. It is great to hear that you use and enjoy our facilities here at The Slate Yard. I will make sure I share your comments with the team as they will really appreciate this positive feedback.

On a separate note I will speak to the development team about the construction work and make sure that their work starts and stops at the appropriate times.

Have a wonderful day and speak soon.

Stuart

Great location and price

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The design of the building is very modern and clean. They can lack light but this is easy to fix.

The management are great and addressed any issues we have had.

I like the location as it is very central with a lot of bars, restaurants and shops near by. The community area and gym are great as well

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the location as it is very central with a lot of bars, restaurants and shops near by. The community area and gym are great as well

Feel like a lot more can be done to involve the community of the residents like other competitors i have seen

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known about more about the activities that were put on for the building

What is the best feature of your home:

There is a lot of space and storage in the apartment

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review.

We really enjoy you being part of The Slate Yard community and we look forward to you joining in our resident events in the future.

We are in the process of organising a schedule of events, but as I am sure you aware in the current climate this is rather challenging.

We will be having live music in the future in our lounge area so we can celebrate with you and our other residents.

Have a wonderful day and kind regards

Stuart

Safe, affordable and amazing accommodation

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Really amazing staff, always very helpful, kind and friendly. 24/7 concierge. Fully furnished stylish apartments, fitted with high quality furniture. Additional attractions of the development: excellent safe location, free on-site gym, lounge at reception is great for people to socialise, study, work, play board games, read and multiple selection of hot drinks available 24/7 for free.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent location – a few minutes walking distance from Spinningfields, great restaurants and Tesco Express. There is a NCP Car Park (unusual building design, which is a lovely change) for visitors driving and only a 10 minute Uber drive from Manchester Piccadilly Station if you have friends or family traveling by train. It is a lovely and safe area to live in.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Make the bathroom slightly smaller and bedroom slightly bigger

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

HI Mariska,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review of The Slate Yard.

My team will be over the moon that you have called them amazing and it just shows that all their hard work is appreciated – it means a lot!

Once again thank yo for taking the time to complete the survey and I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

Kind regards

Stuart

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

Image of The Slate Yard, M3
Image of The Slate Yard, M3
Image of The Slate Yard, M3
Image of The Slate Yard, M3
Image of The Slate Yard, M3
Image of The Slate Yard, M3

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Location

Legal & General

About Legal & General

Legal & General is one of the UK's leading financial services groups and a major global investor, with international business…
Number of developments 7

4.59

Average rating based on 153 reviews

View company
Urbanbubble

About Urbanbubble

Based in the heart of Manchester, Urbanbubble is the North West’s fastest-growing residential property management company. It currently manages  Build…
Number of developments 9

4.56

Average rating based on 168 reviews

View company