The Copper House, L1

By
Greystar
2nd
Ranked 2nd out of 18 in Liverpool
4.31 (24 reviews) 4.31 (24 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.25
Facilities
4.50
Design
4.88
Location
3.75
Value
3.92
Management

The Copper House, an INSTRATA Lifestyle Residence managed by Greystar, sits on Liverpool’s dockside. This build to rent development is a landmark collection of 382 premium rental apartments. There are 1, 2 or 3 bed apartments to choose from. As well as this, residents can enjoy all the shared spaces on offer, from the entrance courtyard, lounge and fully equipped gym, to the 16th floor garden offering far-reaching views across the Liverpool skyline.

Read more Read less
Available properties

Reserve today to enjoy 4 weeks rent-free. T&C's apply

Show all
For sale
To rent
£855 pcm
Living room of a flat in The Copper House
1 Bed Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
485 sq ft
Greystar
More info
£1,330 pcm
2 Bed Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
650 sq ft
Greystar
More info
£1,964 pcm
3 Bed Apartment
3 Bed
2 Bath
777 sq ft
Greystar
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 24 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Perfect city apartment

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The apartment is modern, big and airy, with bright walls and plenty of space for 2 people (and a little dog) this is just the start of what makes this development amazing. The staff are wonderful and helpful, any issues are resolved as quickly as practicable. The communal areas are well maintained, and all residents are friendly and sociable. The facilities are state of the art and wonderfully maintained. The gym has everything necessary. The communal roof terrace is beautiful and is a little part of Liverpool city, away from the hustle and bustle of a city centre. It is wonderful.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Liverpool city centre is full of vibrant bars and restaurants and is within walking distance of the apartments. It is close proximity to waterfront & just a short journey to green outdoor spaces & beaches. The roof terrace is quiet and relaxing away from the busy road out front. With the windows open the traffic noise in the apartment can be distracting sometimes, however this does not have a negative effect on the apartment at all. It is very central and well managed and a lovely place to live.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It would have been useful to have the renz boxes explained a little more, however we quickly figured out how they worked. This is genuinely the only thing I can think

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Chris resolved issues quickly and effectively when we first moved in. Our battery in our door died and he came up and tried to sort it out himself, when he couldn’t fix it himself, he ensured that maintenance came and sorted it ASAP. And until this could be fixed, ensured that security could open the door for us.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  The Copper House, L1
User submitted image of  The Copper House, L1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Rude staff, nice complex.

Review Date Oct 2021

This whole complex is completely let down by its staff. The majority of them ruin the whole experience (not all). Getting a viewing was like asking for a letter off god. It was as though they were doing me the biggest favour in the world. The guy who works of a night is literally hopeless. More foal the people who own/run this complex for making such a good and modern complex to then over look the key element.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local is perfect. Literally on the plot and in the centre of it L1 and the Albert Dock. Local Tesco in walking distance.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Matt,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are sorry to hear that your experience with us overall has not been so good. If you would like to chat further about this please pop in to see us at reception or send us an email on team@thecopperhouse.co.uk

Thanks,
The Copper House Team

Design of building is nice, so is the apartment.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Design of building is nice, so is the apartment. Took nearly 4 months to get the coffee machine in foyer though and residents are still waiting for the skylounge that was supposed to be available. As the weather is now changing there are less opportunities to use the roof terrace so we are keen for the lounge to be started.
I was a little disappointed with the move in process, I didn’t receive any ‘induction’ or instructions on how to use the features such as the air filter system or the oven/washing machine and had no idea how to join the wifi. As it was a weekend I asked at reception but there was only a security man on duty and he couldn’t help so had to wait 2 days. I received an email after a week with all of the information that I feel should have been given on moving in day. Myself and other residents have asked many times about having the windows cleaned as they have been very dirty since moving in, we have been told they were done just before the building was opened but this doesn’t appear to be the case.
One design issue that I think should be addressed is the noise created by the heavy doors slamming. The slam echos right through the corridor and I am woken nearly every night by residents using the stairwell and letting their apartment doors slam, maybe the closers could be adjusted on the doors to help with this. Also the bin chutes are constantly blocked and do not seem to be fit for purpose. I bag my rubbish up and end up having to take it back to the apartment as they are blocked every weekend with no maintenance staff on to clear them.
On the whole I am happy with my decision to choose The Copper House but at this point don’t feel that I will renew my rental.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Picked this development for the location. Very good for bars, restaurants and there is a local tesco. Very good access to the waterfront with nice walks along the river. As it’s on one of the busiest streets in the city noise is quite bad, sirens, buses and lorries and also drunk people walking past but I knew that may be an issue before moving in.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I initially thought that being near the bin chutes would be convenient but unfortunately I hear a lot of noise from items being put down and rattling in the chute.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I did ask for an electricity meter reading and this was dealt with quickly and efficiently

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Jo,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are pleased to hear that your experience with us overall has been good. We take your feedback on board regarding your move in experience and are sorry to hear that you have had issues. We will pass your other concerns onto our maintenance team regarding the doors and bin chutes. If you would like to chat further about anything, please pop in to see us at reception or send us an email on team@thecopperhouse.co.uk

Thanks,
The Copper House Team

Great facilities, but disappointing flat

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The facilities have been great, the onsite Gym, bike store and reception area look great, and the reception and security team are really friendly and helpful. The main issues with facilities is parcel delivery, the parcel boxes are quite difficult to use, and feel unnecessary. With a concierge present it would be much better if they carried on taking in residents parcels. If I had to be picky, the coffee machine at the ground floor seems to always be empty/not working – so some extra maintenance to ensure it is working would be great.
I’ve not had any major dealings with the property management/maintenance side yet, however there has been a leak in the corridor roof on Level 15 for over a month, which has not yet been sorted out. It feels like the issue has been forgotten, and we as residents have not been updated with any progress.
The design of the development is inconsistent, externally the quality looks great, and the interior design of the communal areas are lovely, however the design and quality of the flats themselves are poor and disappointing. In the bedrooms, the space for the bed is small, which makes locating a TV at the bottom of the bed where all the electrics are almost impossible. If you are a couple, having one of you walking round the other side of the bed to get in and out is a nightmare. The quality of the carpet is also terrible, it is thin and scratchy and looses fibres continuously! And the light fixtures are so close to wardrobe or ensuite doors that you can’t install a lampshade. Placement of radiators are bad, with most of them being places on walls which impact furniture placement. Generally the build quality is quite bad, the painting is poor quality, and most surfaces such as the kitchen cabinets, kitchen worktops, door frames and window cills have chips or dents. The front door is also questionable, the door viewer is installed very loosely and the deadlock doesn’t work.
As a final note, one of the main reasons we chose to live at the development, was because it was advertise as ‘pet friendly’. However, we cannot open the windows fully, because the gap is large enough to be a risk of falling for our cat. This has been very disappointing considering we have to pay ‘pet rent’.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location of the development is great, it is close to loads of great shops, restaurants and bars, and has great links to public transport. Private parking is tricky, with mainly only expensive private car parks around. The street can be a little bit noisy, but nothing out of the ordinary for a city centre development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How parcels are received, and how maintenance issues should be reported. More clear guidance on how the flat can be decorated.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Slowly, leak in roof reported over a month ago is still unfixed.

4
Facilities
1
Design
5
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Roberts,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we always take on board any feedback given by our residents. If you would like to chat further about anything, please pop in to see us at reception or send us an email on team@thecopperhouse.co.uk

Thanks,
The Copper House Team

A positive but honest outlook living at the copper house.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The copper house is a really professional establishment. I feel like it is very welcoming and the atmosphere adds to my experience going into work post graduation where the environment is professionally managed and all other residents are friendly and are encouraged to be part of a community within the building. It is evident that the design of the apartments and facilities within have been well thought out and embody quality, functionality and aesthetic. Being from an engineering background, I am extremely content with the foundation of where I am living and the communication throughout my application process has been welcoming, supportive and thorough.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location of the development is fantastic. With it being at the centre of liverpool with the city centre and shopping centre right behind the development is great. Despite being in such a prime location, it is also away from the main footfall of liverpool which allows privacy and not too much noise on a Friday night. The accessibility to restaurants and shops is excellent and the transport links are flexible and easy to access from the location of the development. Overall the location is perfect for my place of work and has made my work life manageable and enjoyable.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The only factor I wish I had known before moving in would be a detailed insight into the utility providers and council tax details before moving in as this would allow preparation for changing energy bills for example to be arranged before moving in as these are factors that take around 3 weeks to sort out.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management have responded to any of my queries almost instantly.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Anisha,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are happy to hear that your experience so far has been a good one! I take on board your feedback regarding utility providers and council tax and will endeavour to improve our processes moving forward. If you would like to chat further about anything, please pop in to see us at reception or send us an email on team@thecopperhouse.co.uk

Thanks,
The Copper House Team

The building is absolutely amazing!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The building is absolutely amazing! The property staff are all very helpful and if they don’t have the answer to something they’ll find it for you.

The rooftop is the selling point for me however I do feel it lacks anywhere to sit comfortably- I have seen a new development 2 mins walk away with a very similar roof top that has tables and big comfy chairs etc… the roof top is great for views but not inviting to go and use really.

The gym is fab! Got everything you could need.

The apartments are lovely!

When I was shown the property we were told all about the residents bar / lounge that was getting built and again that really sold the property to us. However it’s now been 4 months and no bar or lounge seems to be anywhere! Which is disappointing as again a new property of flats down the road is offering an amazing residents bar area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

You couldn’t get a better location for liverpool – right next to a Tesco and a 2 minute walk to all the bars and shops you could dream of!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How tight the parking spaces would be

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very well. Pretty immediately and very efficiently.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Meg,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, we are happy to hear that your experience so far has been a good one! I take on board your feedback regarding the roof terrace furniture and will look into finding you some more comfortable seating. If you would like to chat further about anything, please pop in to see us at reception or send us an email on team@thecopperhouse.co.uk

Thanks,
The Copper House Team

Nice modern design.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Nice modern design. Front door can slam loudly if you don’t slowly close door. Bedroom could be bigger. Flawed design in shower glass (water easily escapes onto the floor) and I believe a better option for tile could have been chosen (spots easily seen on floor from water). Nice staff.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close to restaurants, James street station, water front and next door to Liverpool one. Lovely rooftop terrace. Brand new flats which are furnished (bed, media console, living room table, and table with chairs. Would be nice if microwave, tv and nightstands with drawers were provided. Unfortunately parking is not included in rent price (£150 is a bit steep). Not usually noisy (only hear people passing in the hallway or when the windows are open which is expected). Bin and recycling collection fantastic- chute on every floor so you don’t have to go outside yourself. WiFi included.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Parking not included. Air conditioning not able to control per maintenance

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes mostly, however I had to sort out an issue that should have been dealt with by the staff .

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The actual design of the building and facilities are second to none.

Review Date Sep 2021

Couldn’t be happier with the development and the team who work there are great nothing is too much trouble.
The actual design of the building and facilities are second to none. I have enjoyed using the gym onsite and the roof top garden is a great way to unwind after a long day

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location is amazing. Parking is available on site or at multiple nearby car parks.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I’ve found more features to the building that I didn’t realise were included

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Haven’t had any issues thankfully but the team are always available or someone is in the building if needed

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi MD,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, we are happy to hear that your experience so far has been a good one, this really has made our day! If you would like to chat further about anything, please pop in to see us at reception or send us an email on team@thecopperhouse.co.uk

Thanks,
The Copper House Team

Good location, safe, clean, tidy and well-managed building

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Well managed apartment building, clean and tidy.
Public area cleaning almost every day.
Many CCTVs and access controls to keep you safe.
Free wifi everywhere in the building is super good.
Good noise isolation inside the building.
But, supplied the sofa and coffee table are too big.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good Location in the centre of the Liverpool city, all you need is surrounding you. Bus stops and stations are very close.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

New and beautiful building with affordable price in good location

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The management team can provide quite fast response for almost issue happened.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very modern, quaint and stylish.

Review Date Sep 2021

The design is lovely. Very modern, quaint and stylish. The sky bar we haven’t seen yet.
The rooftop garden could be better kept, weeds are now beginning to grow between the floor tiles.
Apartments are perfect in size, the 1 bedroom is more than enough for 1 person. Close to all amenities. Furniture that comes with is very helpful.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area and setting of the copper house is perfect. Beautiful building, beautiful location. Couldn’t ask for better

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the sky bar wouldn’t be ready for when moving in, the windows would be cleaned every 6 months when they are absolutely filthy and block a lot of natural light coming through.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Management can be poor in replying to emails, a lot just get ignored – most members of staff are so friendly and helpful!

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amazing apartments, not well managed

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

I love the rooftop it’s 360 degree views of Liverpool are unbelievable. Amazing location. I love the view from my apartment of the docks, really love the design of the apartments and how spacious they are. The rent was initially a bit over our budget however the views made it worth it (South facing apartment). However was very unclean when we first moved in considering it was brand new, paint marks on floor.
The customer service/ building management in my experience was very poor, no introduction given of how to use/do things, just given keys and left to get on with it. As first time renters I found this overwhelming and the management team were of little help.

Told building management that I wasn’t signing the inventory which states that the apartment was thoroughly cleaned and checked, it was definitely not! I gave them a list of issues we found including scratches on worktops, white paint marks on carpet and floor throughout. They told us to send pictures and someone would come to look and no one turned up.
Another big issue I had when I asked for a meter reading from building management for my electricity, they gave me an incorrect meter reading of almost £900 worth of electricity within the space of 5 weeks, luckily I spotted this before I submitted it and queried it again to be told by whoever answered the phone that it ‘had to be correct and was unlikely it wasn’t’. I had to send another email explaining that it would be physically impossible for me to have used 7 months worth of electricity within 5 weeks. This was eventually resolved after complaining again. However this caused me a lot of stress. Very very disappointed with the building management.

Was also told reception would no longer accept our parcels if we didn’t set an account with the Renzbox system they have in place, I followed all instructions as they asked and my parcels were still delivered to the reception. Don’t think they should be threatening to stop receiving our parcels when some delivery companies don’t accept the renzbox as it a new concept.
Maintenance team haven’t responded to emails about hanging things on the walls as advised to contact them before doing so.

Luckily the location and the design of the spacious apartments and rooftop makes up for the total lack of customer service skills.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

-The noise from the busy street especially weekends from drunk ppl.
– The apartments get very hot on some days, hard to cool down as the windows only open a few inches
– there is only enough space for 2 cars in the loading bay which is a huge issue as I don’t have a car parking space in the building as I park in my work but when unloading shopping I have received a ticket for parking on double yellows as the loading bay was full.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Was told before moving in on the viewing we could hang anything on the walls to make it ‘our home’ since moving in we have found out this is not the case.
I wish I knew that the customer service is close to none existent, it’s ruined the experience of my first time living away from home. Luckily the location and the design of the spacious apartments and rooftop makes up for the total lack of customer service skills.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Told them I wasn’t signing the inventory which states that the apartment was thoroughly cleaned and checked, it was definitely not! I gave them a list of issues we found including scratches on worktops, white paint marks on carpet and floor throughout. They told us to send pictures and someone would come to look and no one turned up.
Another big issue I had when I asked for a meter reading for my electricity, they gave me an incorrect meter reading of almost £900 worth of electricity within the space of 5 weeks, luckily I spotted this before I submitted it and queried it again to be told by whoever answered the phone that this ‘must be correct’. I had to send another email explaining that it would be physically impossible for me to have used 6 months worth of electricity within 5 weeks. This was eventually resolved after complaining again. However this caused me a lot of stress. Very very disappointed with the building management.

Was also told reception would no longer accept our parcels if we didn’t set an account with the Renzbox system they have in place, I followed all instructions as they asked and my parcels were still delivered to the reception. Don’t think they should be threatening to stop receiving our parcels when some delivery companies don’t accept the renzbox as it a new concept.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
User submitted image of  The Copper House, L1
User submitted image of  The Copper House, L1
User submitted image of  The Copper House, L1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Nicole,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I take on board your feedback and will look into how we can improve our processes moving forward. If you would like to chat further about anything mentioned, please pop in to see us at reception or send us an email on team@thecopperhouse.co.uk

Thanks,
The Copper House Team

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of The Copper House, L1
User submitted image of The Copper House, L1
User submitted image of The Copper House, L1
User submitted image of The Copper House, L1
User submitted image of The Copper House, L1
User submitted image of The Copper House, L1
User submitted image of The Copper House, L1
User submitted image of The Copper House, L1

Facilities

24 Hours

24 Hours

Balcony

Balcony

Coworking

Coworking

Concierge

Concierge

Communal Gardens

Communal Gardens

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Resident Events

Resident Events

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

WiFi Included

WiFi Included

Location

Greystar
Number of developments 13

4.39

Average rating based on 521 reviews

View company