St Edeyrns Village, CF3

St Edeyrns Village, CF3

By
Persimmon Homes
1st
Ranked 1st out of 1 in South Glamorgan
3.35 (116 reviews) 3.35 (116 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

2.79
Facilities
3.35
Design
4.39
Location
3.40
Value
2.35
Management

St Edeyrns is a large development by Persimmon Homes located to the north-east of Cardiff.  Named after the 6th century monk St Edeyrn, the development lies close to the Rhymney River.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

Good ideas for a community, poorly executed.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

When I first moved in there was lots of things wrong with my property with the bin stores not even being set up, which I later found was in breach of the leasehold and I shouldn’t have moved in but the pressure and bullying from Persimmon was bordering on disgusting. I was given my keys and a tour and the carpet fitter was still laying the flooring! Not to be deterred it all worked out ok in the end and I’ll give Persimmon the benefit of the doubt on this one but the planning was shocking.

My snags weren’t too bad so I’ll consider myself one of the lucky ones as there are some horror stories!

There are currently no facilities apart from a shop being set up opposite but the other two retail spots are empty, although we were promised they would be filled eventually (I’ve been here nearly 3 years)

I can’t comment on building management because our block (Block 3) is still not handed over meaning the internal communal area for the 4 flats hasn’t been cleaned in nearly 3 years! This is absolutely shocking and really the carpets and stairs need replacing as they’ve gotten so dirty due to the neglect. I don’t know who is ultimately responsible and I understand we as residents aren’t currently paying but my goodness it’s unacceptable and when we are expected to pay we will be pushing for a complete refit at the management companies cost as you can’t polish a turd!

The external area is generally well maintained with grass being cut consistently.

The design of the area isn’t great with roads being narrow which is probably bordering on the minimum limit as I have lived in other Persimmon properties and the roads are equally as small, probably to maximise profits at the expense of the residents as per usual.

As my title will suggest, it’s a good idea with the location being great and some lovely countryside walks but the execution has been sub-par. Persimmon had the opportunity to turn this community into something great but their carelessness and lack of responsibility has left a sour taste in the residents mouths with little problems manifesting into large ones.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good:
– Good location
– Good sense of community
– Bus route right outside of my property which is useful
– People are generally very nice

Bad
– Bins aren’t collected at regular intervals, it’s almost like they forget our apartment block
– There’s been plenty of anti-social behaviour recently with cars being broken into and homophobic abuse being shouted at to name but a few incidents
– The proposed changes to parking is absolutely ridiculous. I live in the apartments across from the convenience store and they’re planning to turn all parking into retail parking. I have guests visit and stay regularly so where are they meant to park? It’s a convenience store not a supermarket, surely some parking needs to be for residents as they only allocated one spot for the owner.
– Traffic noise is ok
– There should be a pub where the old Unicorn Inn is located, this would give the area a much more friendly and sociable dynamic

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That Persimmon were a bunch of bullies who will go to any length to get you to move in on their terms. This is no doubt to fill their quota by a certain deadline but why should corporate greed make the working class suffer like we have? We understand that the finish isn’t going to be perfect but come on they can at least take pride in their service and work tirelessly to resolve the issues

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management haven’t adopted Block 3 just yet so it is hard to make a comment but I do know residents in other blocks and their communal areas are lovely and clean and any issues are seemingly sorted

1
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Fair place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Our house was designed well. We had a problem with leaking gutter, but Persimmon customer service helped to repair it rather fast. I know that other people also had some problems with snags. Generally the houses are aesthetical.

The park in the estate is rather poor, with 3 trees and small playground. Fortunately there is plenty of green spaces to walk with dogs along river Rhymney.

Streets are rather narrow, so you have to be careful driving here, especially with cars parked by the curb. Except for Church Rd there is no chance for the streets being adopted by city council in the future. There is only one litter bin by the road in whole estate.

All public spaces are under management of private company, Remus. They do fine job – well, at least with cutting the grass, but some people find it problematic thst they have to pay them and the council tax as well.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The estate has really good location, close to M4 and A48, with about 20 minutes drive to Cardiff city centre. There is also bus line going to the town. Next to the development we Cardiff Gate Retail Park with Asda, B&Q, McDonald’s and some furniture stores. It is also close to M4 services with KFC, Burger King, WH Smith and Waitrose, what is useful for emergency weekend shopping. You may get to Cardiff Garden Centre by csr on couple minutes.

Unfortunately our local pub the Unicorn is closed, but there are some other ones nearby in Old St. Mellons and Pontprennau.

The living here is ok. We have good community here, with Facebook group where people inform each other about different issues. People care about their neighbours. The street is rather quiet. Unfortunately there are some minuses. Smaller houses have only one parking space, what cause some people to park on the street. There were couple cases of breaking in and theft from cars, and anti-social behaviour from young people. Except minor lags during lockdown, rubbish beans are collected regularly.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish to know that Persimmon doesn’t plan to let our street to be adopby city council.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They help us to repair snag in our house. It took couple days, due to available of a workers from company responsible to do it on the development.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A good place to raise a child!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Having lived on the development for just over one mounth my opinion of the development is a good one. The development looks clean and well maintained, there is still some construction work being done in one part of the development that can affect the overall quality of the development, but once all is completet I’m positive it will be a very good place to live. The property we purchased is a decent build one, considering that is not one of the premium buildings. So far we haven’t had the need to deal with the management company but from the looks of the development seems good taken care of and clean.
In some areas the building can seem a bit to crowded, for example we live in a semi detached house but it still feels like terraced houses, space between buildings is les than 2m.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We gave ben living in St. Edeyrns Vilage for the past month, having recently bought a property here. Currently there are not that many facilities present in the development , but I noticed that a local shop is being furnished at the moment and in the future there are plans to build a primary school. The vilage is situated in the proximity to M4 motorway and the A48 witch provide good connection both to areas around Cardiff and Cardiff town centre. There is also a bus that runs every 30 minutes towards town centre, overall I can say that there are good connections running from the vilage.
We live on a very quaiet part of the vilage, on a coul du sac street witch translates in almost any traffic noise beside the street residents. The street we live on is wery quaiet with at least one drive way for every house, so there aren’t any parking issues.
The only down size is the recreational area , or local park that is relatively small and not very well equipped.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Always check the broadband provider, on our part of development there is only one provider available(Fibrenest), without the option to keep your current provider. That meant that we had to cancel our contract before deadline and had to pay a cancellation fee.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

How I mentioned before we haven’t dealt with the management company yet, the only thing we have done was to register our selfs as the new owners of the property. That was a wery straight forward process without any issues.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Honest and balanced, the good and the bad

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The design of properties is well done, there is good space however in the master bedroom you cannot fit a double bed and wardrobe if you are to access the socket points. The fact that there are ensuit bathrooms is the best bit. The kitchen is also well fitted. The electric showers are useless but the normal ones are on point. Sink size in bathrooms and kitchen is also good as others put tiny sinks in.

Property management is extremely poor. Very low response rate from persimmon homes, absolutely no efficiency in dealing with teething problems. So many miscommunications, staff mixing data, staff calling about jobs that are for another property, staff not turning up when appointment is fixed, staff not having records of previously raised issues. It’s been over a year and still our sink needs replacing. Not heard back from persimmon homes, we have to chase every week or month depending how much time and effort we have.

The good thing is that ones things are fixed they are generally of good quality, it’s just unfortunate that it seems interns or inexperienced builders have put things together, simple things like shower doors, windows, carpet grips should not be so badly done. Another concern that has recently come up is that the gas pipes and boiler are not fitted in a compliant manner. This is a massive worry.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are no local shops or post office in the village but Asda is nearby. The bus is a good transport link but takes up the road width especially around the corners. This causes traffic jam everyday. There is some anti social behaviour in the park, people even set off fireworks and there is an extremely loud sweet selling van that comes blaring music after 7pm. There isn’t much on street parking, it is not clear if the strip Infront of the houses are for parking or for the homeowner only, it seems each property have made their own rule. The bins don’t get collected, ever, and there is litter everywhere due to people but also the wind that blows the uncollected bin rubbish. For the past year and half the noise pollution from construction work is traumatic.

The good aspects are the scenary is beautiful and the houses are slightly spread out giving a little more privacy than other plots. I really like the fact it is well lit on the streets, there should also be lighting around the park as in the dark you can’t see who is there and often gangs loiter. I really like the trees and greenery and also the outlook of other properties is designed well. I am happy about it being near Asda and fuel and Lidl. It would be good to have a shop in the vily itself but the location is good right near M4. Overall it’s a good place but not the best I’ve seen. Maybe with time it will improve.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how persimmon are with building management. Always check how the company is. Even if the property isn’t hundred percent as long as they manage it and fix the issues it’s workable but if you are ignored and played around it’s truly stressful.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They haven’t. I have had to sort it myself through chasing.

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great Potential, Issues to be resolved. Up and coming development.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The design of the development is subpar on the basis of infrastructure. The aesthetic and look of the estate is certainly of a modern and appealing style. We have had many comments on how lovely the estate looks overall. Persimmon build a tiny park for the children though with the huge space they were allocated. The river walking path is a great edition to the development but needs improvement. Management of the landscaping etc is good, but the overall development charges reflect it. Reasonable amount each year as of 2021. Development does currently have drainage issues and smells coming from certain parts of the development which have been know to linger for weeks before addressed. Decent quality chain shop opening soon, school opening soon. Easy bus ride from development too to the city centre. Overall going in the right direction.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Persimmon are an average quality builder. Good but not excellent standards. They have only one exit out of the development. And they are constantly building more and more houses without building another exit which I can see being a problem in the future. Especially when the school is built. They need another exit by the cardiff gate services roundabout. Unless this will just be another bottle neck development with one exit, and a nightmare for rush hour traffic for the residents. They closed off one exit to stop the rat run of thousands of cars coming through the estate from st Mellons and llanrumney, which is good. But persimmon will just keep building for profit and the suitibility of the infrastructure is of little consequence or consideration on this development. Simple fix, build an exit near the major exit roads near the m4 and cardiff gate services roundabout.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the plan a developer has showed you initially is never set in stone. For example,

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Initially major issues were resolved. Smaller issues and snags were generally forgotten about, as per above.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Development lovely but would be much better and happier if customer care were supportive to us home buyers and builders took the care abd pride seriously

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Design of the estate has changed slightly during each phase such as cladding on homes. We still currently don’t have the cladding on our home and have been here for 2 years now and still waiting. A mini supermarket is currently being done on the development which is a good thing and needed. Bins need to be located around the estate and in the park area. The park area isn’t great for the size of the estate. I don’t really recommend it to be honest it seemed rushed. Our snags have still not been sorted 2 years on and we feel that we are now being ignored so management is a bit disappointing to be fair. We have a wooden fence outside out home and it jsut seems out of place with the Design of the phase and its looks shocking and was broken on day one from builders and still hasn’t been fixed.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good location off the M4 and easy access into other parts of Cardiff. Public transport for busses are good but no train line. Good location for supermarkets and currently having a mini store on the estate which is good. Not much for cafes ect. Not much parking around the street but soenthj g that we discussed during the decision to move here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How bad after care is, the purpose for remus the maintenance for the development and how pricey it is, I would recommend to look in depth at the property before signing over any contract and make sure it gets done before hand because empty promises are made.
Love the location.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

not efficiently and currently being ignored. Very stressful

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely area. Lovely house. Pros definitely outweigh any negatives.

Review Date Sep 2021

We love the house. Love the space but do feel a couple of design floors. As a 5 bedroom house leaving a 650mm wide area for a fridge freezer seems a little on the small side. Most large families have large American style fridge freezers. I feel this is a big design fault. And the kitchen itself seems not to utilise the space it has. As good as the oven is again it’s a small single oven…. A large family requires a double oven. I have to say, the site manager and the snagging staff have been wonderful. Above and beyond. So helpful and friendly. Andy keeps in constant contact with us with updates on snags. Another thing we disagree with is purchasing our own bins. The house is £460k and having to buy our own bins???? We purchased end of august. We’ve been advised that bins are backlogged and could take up to Christmas to arrive!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The Develpment itself is positioned superb for M4 links and it’s hard to believe it’s actually as close as it is to a major motorway. Bus routes are a bit basic at the moment within the development but across the road there are a lot more bus options. We love the open spaces on the development and the beautiful walks on our doorstep. Even walking distance to a major supermarket. Although close to the motorway and a retail park the development still feels suburban. It’s quiet and calm. As yet the on site shop has not opened but it looks to be a very well stocked mini supermarket. My only qualm after being here a month is the parking. Our particular house is on the top of a hammerhead and seems to be everyone’s go to parking place as the house had been empty for so long. Hopefully over the coming months this will ease. This little street feels tucked away and very friendly.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Order your bins now!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Excellent. On it like sonic! Constant communication. Very reassured.

4
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Could it be worse?

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Our previous home is built by Charles church (owned by persimmon). The building quality difference between the two is beyond words. We had numerous issues. Large finger width cracks on ceilings is one of them. You also see renders to exterior walls completed stripped and re plastered just after 3 years. It often took months for the developer to sort out the problems.
The management company looking after the site is even worse. Communal areas poorly maintained. Customer service never call back. It’s a joke.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location works for us as it’s easy for our commute. But there’s not much else there. No recreation, restaurants…. Quite close to motorways.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Be persistent. We were reluctant to complain but that was clearly a mistake.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very slow response. Use perks to trick people to give persimmon good NHBC. unethical.

3
Facilities
2
Design
3
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Poorly finished development.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

We very much like our house. It is light and spacious and we have had little problems with it. The finish of the estate however is very poor. The park was a big disappointment. Very little for the children to play on and the finish of the park and green space around it is extremely poor. Facilities that have been promised have not been finished including the school and allotment. The roads and paths have also been finished to a poor standard. There are no street signs which causes big problems for deliveries.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There area does not have enough space for all of the people living on it. Two bedroom properties have only one parking space which forces people to park on the road making it very difficult to drive around. The area is relatively quiet in terms of traffic noise, but once the full site has been finished there will not be enough access road to and from the village to cope with the number of cars.
The children’s park is very small for the number of people, and the surrounding green space feels very rushed and unfinished.
A school was promised to be built by Sept 2020 but work has not yet begun (Sept 2021).

The location is extremely convenient for commuting and visiting places in the vicinity, however, though there is a regular bus, this is often unreliable and only travels to the city centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the promised school would not have been ready within the expected timeframe.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

If the problem has been small and straightforward they respond well. However for a more complex issue, they are not interested.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Ideal location for lovers of the outdoors

Review Date Oct 2021

For the most part the development has been well considered and planned. Provided all the final transport and most importantly; active travel links are instigated on completion it will be ideal for those working in and around the city or anyone who needs quick access to the M4 corridor.

There are nice amenities hopefully coming as the development completes such as allotments, local shops, a primary school, good active travel links etc

There are niggles such as;
– the later phases still currently (10/2021) being developed and therefore the roads being shared with construction traffic.
– the addition of service charges on top of council tax to pay for amenities which would normally be maintained by the council is frustrating, but stems from the government so can’t be blamed on the developers.
– as with any new build, it is evident the quality of each element just depends which tradesperson was contracted in that day.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great access to rural trails, woodland and river path. Nice way to cycle back into the city or bus service if required.

Amenities are still being developed (primary school, grocery shop, allotments, orchard, footbridge to green space, and any other shops which move in), but hopefully the council make sure Persimmon provide what’s promised.

Very nice and quiet location with no risk of significant development due to being sandwiched by the ideal driving links of the M4 and A48.

As with anywhere houses with far more cars than required make parking tricky in certain parts of the development, but there is plenty of parking provided with each property.

Neighbours seem friendly and welcoming with plenty of local businesses owners residing in the village.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had asked why I couldn’t order internet installation 2-3 weeks before moving in. Someone had forgotten to inform Openreach the property was ready for connection.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The long term building management is yet to take over for the development therefore I can’t comment, but having seen their cost breakdown a chunk of the fees do appear to be going into their own pockets.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of St Edeyrns Village, CF3
User submitted image of St Edeyrns Village, CF3
User submitted image of St Edeyrns Village, CF3
User submitted image of St Edeyrns Village, CF3

Location

Persimmon Homes
Number of developments 36

3.50

Average rating based on 573 reviews

View company