Shopwycke Lake, PO20

Shopwycke Lake, PO20

By
CALA Homes, The Hyde Group
Ranked 9th out of 19 in West Sussex
3.43 (13 reviews) 3.43 (13 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

2.77
Facilities
3.85
Design
4.31
Location
3.62
Value
3.08
Management

Shopwycke Lake is located close to the city of Chichester, and benefits from a picturesque setting, in close proximity to the city centre. The area is very popular with commuters as it is close to both the A27 and also to the mainline station.

Read more Read less

Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 13 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Design of development excellent except not enough visitor parking

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Already covered – design of development excellent except not enough visitor parking, therefore people insist on parking right outside our lounge window. Cars clog up the access roads which could cause problems if a fire engine needs to get to any fire on the development

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent location particularly well designed regarding open spaces, however severely let down with parking availability which clogs up the relatively narrow access roads. Poo bins not emptied every week.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Although we knew of the forthcoming changes to the road layouts many of the owner/occupiers did NOT and has caused some concern after purchase!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, any problems have been sorted immediately – couldn’t fault the management company

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall, a lovely place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

At first the service from Cala was fantastic, but as soon as the development manager left the site. There have been no check ups from anyone and my queries I’ve sent have either been ignored or shrugged off, which is disappointing.
The pre sales service was fantastic, considering we were still mid-pandemic.
The build of our house is to a very high standard with barely any movement snagging. I think once they start work on the woodland walk and park it will make the development feel more like home.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A very pleasant place to live, very quiet but with a sense of community. Slightly inconvenient that the road leading out to Oving is still not open. certain residents claiming visitor parking full time makes it difficult for when visitors are at the development to park, this is something I’ve raised and nothing has been solved.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew how much longer it would be until the development would be finished. I asked when the woodland walk would be complete and they told me 2-3 years, which is disappointing.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Started out well, but as the development grows the older residents slip further away from their priorities.

1
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The positives and negatives

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The design on our house we absolutely loved. It was the main reason we brought it! It’s very open and bright. We wouldn’t change anything in regards to that. We have had a few troubles with the drains and toilet etc so that would be one fault in regards to the plumbing side of things.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A gym, coffee shop and local shop within 5 mins of my house. ( still waiting for them to open )

2 minutes walk to the bus station, lots of restaurants gyms etc very close by.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Lovely neighbourhood everyone is very friendly and respectful

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quite slow and a unfortunately a lot of follow ups involved

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

OK, nothing more

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Aesthetically the development is lovely, however there have been several false promises. Such as a posting field (hasn’t been built though was promised), bridge to the main shops over the busy A27 (hasn’t been built though was promised). Time will tell if this changes, but right now am unhappy with progress.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Parking is OK for my house as we have two off road parking spaces but the main road has recently been painted with double yellow lines which was not advised when we bought. There are no shops at this time though there are premises built for them. Buses currently do not run but they will start soon. The estate is currently quiet other than building work, but I think it will get much noisier when the through road is soon turned into a main road for a lot of traffic.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Much slower timelines on completing the communal areas such as playing field. I bought thinking our 6 month old puppy could use that field. He’s now almost 3 and still no field!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They’re pretty slow and getting things sorted but at the end of the day once the issues at logged then I don’t care how long it takes

2
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Property management do not care to listen to issues raised

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Property management do not care to listen to issues raised, they ignore or take weeks/months to reply. Cannot comment on facilities as having lived here for over 12 months none have been put in place which were part of the selling point. No play parks, shops, sports ground or community centre, the spaces for them have been left empty.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good shops, although difficult to get to them as the overpass still hasn’t been put in place. Very noisy traffic, the site staff also make lots of noise racing along in and out of the work site. People regularly park on the double yellow lines, which are not enforced by anyone, unsure why they are there if not patrolled. Bins are missed due to site management taking our bin key and not realising their error for months of residents telling them.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How long the development would take, people have been here 3years and there are no areas for children to play. Would like to have known/know why they keep digging up parts of Longacres Way that have been constructed then dug out, this keeps happening, there are always puts along the road.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

See above, slow and uninterested. Take to long to respond then have no answers.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Wasn’t the dream home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The property I bought is very hollow and you can hear other residents. Plastic and often wrong materials used. Taken almost a year to fix a problem with a waste pipe that’s still not resolved. The park still isn’t open nor is the community center open

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lovey location, parade of stores a stone throw away and a supermarket and a short walk into town.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

They didn’t tell us about the main road they will be opening up in the middle of the estate

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

It’s taken a very long time to respond and the issue I have raised is still unresolved for almost a year

3
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Well built property, nice community hopefully to be made better by community areas.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Property management is adequate although the errors in management fees and also paying for items not built yet has been frustrating. Design of the estate is good centred around a lake and the property is well built and a spacious design when compared to other developers.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Community is very nice however lack or children’s play area and community space is a downside. the shops are yet to open however that will be a positive addition.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How long it would be before a park or children’s play area would take to be built

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They had sent out the letter or charges which was completely incorrect and was very concerning however they did apologise and send out a further letter with the correct charges.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lacking facilities

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Overall we’re pleased with the design and size of the house, the garden is too small for a 5 bed house, especially with young kids. We’re disappointed with the lack of facilities on our estate which after nearly 3yrs of living here are no where in sight.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local facilities that were promised were not delivered, we are still waiting for the local shops to be opened, 2 bridges to be put in, a playing field and park to be built

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the traffic from the B2144 would be redirected through our estate and that the Oving traffic lights will only be open to buses

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any issues raised with the property we’re dealt with swiftly and professionally, in most cases

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good but could be better

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

My only issue is with the facilities management company, a building front door that has been broken for over a year is beyond unacceptable.
The corridors are extremely clean and kept in excellent condition.
The grounds are kept spotless and a credit to the company that has this contract

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent location which will just get better as the new bus routes and bridge to cross the a27 is completed

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The building has fantastic insulation and therefore the flat is very cheap to maintain…sometimes even a £1 a day

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very very poorly, the excuses regarding the building door have ranged from Covid, to parts to insurance for over a year

2
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The thing that drew us to this Cala development is how much more open and spacious it appears.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The thing that drew us to this Cala development is how much more open and spacious it appears. The main road through is wide and open, and the houses do not feel on top of each other in the side roads. The first lake provides a nice open space and walk which will improve as the rest of the development is completed. The landscaping is maintained on a weekly basis ensuring that the development remains well kept.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We had admired Shopwyke Lakes for a while before deciding to move here just before the pandemic hit in 2020. Whilst there are no shopping facilities or recreational facilities on the development yet, there is easy access to both the centre of Chichester and the Coop in Tangmere. The whole development has a community feel with a local Facebook group for neighbours to update each other and strengthen that community with resident led events having taken place recently.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

None at all. I’m aware that, when the Oving traffic lights close, traffic will be routed through the development however this was known before we moved here and will not have an impact on the road we live.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any issues that have been raised have been dealt with swiftly and effectively.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by CALA Homes

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by The Hyde Group

Location

Number of developments 24

4.13

Average rating based on 107 reviews

View company
Number of developments 9

3.81

Average rating based on 74 reviews

View company