London City Island, E14

London City Island, E14

By
EcoWorld, Ballymore Group
Ranked 10th out of 211 in East London
4.44 (based on 42 reviews) 4.44 (42 reviews)

Category Scores

4.52
Facilities
4.48
Design
4.26
Location
4.02
Value
4.23
Management

Excellent

55%

Very Good

45%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

London City Island is a mixed-use 12-acre neighbourhood from Ballymore and EcoWorld, with a central square, commercial units, parkland, Manhattan-style apartments, and the City Island Social Club, all overlooking the River Thames and the River Lea. It’s now home to the English National Ballet, and offers excellent transport links out of Canning Town station.

A unique variety of properties and amenities are on offer on City Island. London’s creatives and corporate types can all find something to love about this thriving new community just east of Canary Wharf.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Great development for young professionals

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2020

I am not happy with property management. There was an issue with one of the communal pipes and them taking care of it was incredibly slow and not proactive at all – we were having to chase all the time to get anything done. In the end it meant that we couldn’t use our shower for THREE WEEKS and had to use the gym facilities instead. The insurance claim is moving incredibly slowly as well and the tiles in our bathroom still have’t been fixed two months after the works have concluded. We received no compensation.

I find LCI perfect for young professionals with the amenities it offers. It is great having a gym and an outdoors heated pool on site, and the Italian restaurant downstairs offers the tastiest pizza I’ve had in London!
I like the design of the common areas, especially the ping pong and the pool tables, which are a great way to pass time on the weekend.
The only negative is that the facilities, especially the gym, often get overcrowded in peak hours, since it is quite small and the resident numbers keep growing.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Within a walking distance, there’s a big Morrisons, where we do our weekly shopping, a Co-Op, Nisa, a small Superdrug, a few fruit and veg shops and Post Office. The area also offers a few small cafes with delicious and cheap all-day breakfast, a couple of pizzerias and, my favourite, a really tasty Turkish restaurant on the main street in Canning Town.
Right across the street from the development entrance, you can enjoy a walk on the river path with great views of the Thames and the O2.
You can easily get involved with the LCI community. We have a Facebook group which is updated daily and there’s often residents events organised, including Friday drinks once a month.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If the apartment is on a lower floor facing the inner yard, you will almost never get any natural sunlight in which can start to bother you after a while. On the other hand, I moved to a flat higher up with windows throughout and now my flat is boiling all throughout summer – sometimes it gets to over 30 degrees inside.
Most balconies are incredibly windy, which means you can rarely use them, especially if on a higher floor.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Johns & Co are the main estate agent who operates in London City Island and we have the displeasure to be their tenants.
We had multiple issues when we first moved in and our property manager were very inefficient in dealing with those. In the end, I met with their Property Management Director to share my concerns and complaints and we received our tenancy fees back as compensation, but fixing everything still took a whole month.
Later in our tenancy there was an issue with a communal pipe which had to be resolved with LCI’s building management. Both teams were incredibly slow and not proactive at all – I probably spent weeks chasing when it should have been our estate agent who was supposed to move the issue to resolution.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Perfectly connected oasis in the middle of a global city

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2020

It feels an oasis within the hustle and bustle of the city. Perfect connections (12 minutes to Big Ben, less than 20 to Hyde Park), and yet the moment when you cross the bridge peace and quiet descend on you.
Downsides? It’s still relatively new, so some facilites are still coming up, a lot of them with a delay.
That includes a local supermarket, which originaly was supposed to come last year. But of course sooner or later this will be resolved.
Good gym and nice outdoor swimming pool. The water is heated, so you can go even in December.
Though I sometimes wish it would be larger and indoors…

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like proximity to transport link, and the fact that it’s a quiet place – no cars!
It does feel like oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle. And the architecture is original. Still feels like living in a hotel, in the most positive sense .
Local deli is charming with great coffee and Italian treats (tad expensive, though)
The trouble is that the development is rather new and we’re still waiting for our local supermarket to open. That’s the greatest deficit (COVID 19 has led to further delays)

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew that the quality of wooden floor is not the best – almost every smudge stays on it

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quite well, except for one case when my shower broke just before Easter and the initial idea of the management people was to fix it after 6 days. A bit of persuasion did solve the problem though.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report
Olga Turner Property Pro

Thriving new community

Thriving new community

Review Date Sep 2018

London City Island is a thriving new community created by Ballymore and EcoWorld and resembles a ‘mini Manhattan’, centred on a large public square and anchored by the new English National Ballet headquarters, which looks set to be a stunning building. Working as a development consultant in London City Island has always been one of my favourite developments in the capital, and my partner and I therefore bought a 2 bedroom apartment there off-plan. The communal areas are now completed and look fantastic: a retro-inspired gym, outdoor pool surrounded by planting, a grocer and Italian deli, bar and pizzeria and even more facilities still to come in later phases. A fantastic effort has been made with the landscaping, placemaking and creating a sense of community, with regular events being hosted by the developer and a series of artisans moving in. The scheme is easily accessible from the Canning Town tube station (Jubilee Line) and gives the perfect combination of big city life with its amazing connectivity, and simultaneously that of a small-town community, with the classic high-street occupants like a florist, art gallery and grocer. We can’t wait to see it complete!

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

London City Island will be worth the wait!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2018

We have bought a flat in phase 3 of the London City Island development. We are not professional property investors but chose to invest in a flat here because we believe this development offers more unique features than neighbouring developments and we are excited about the long-term potential of owning here. We fell for London City Island because of the mini city environment the developers are creating with shops, restaurants, boutiques and it being home to the English National Ballet. The location and transport links are fantastic taking residents into or out of the city.

Whilst our flat is not due to be complete until 2019 it is fantastic to have recently visited and seen the completion of the first phase and the work being doing on our building. We initially invested in 2015 but are still really excited about owning a flat here.

Share one thing (or more) you wish you had known before you moved in:

We have bought in phase 3 but the completion of this phase has been delayed by 2 years since the date we were told when we purchased (from 2017 until 2019). The lack of communication from the developers has been frustrating and this length of delay is not something we had appreciated could happen when we bought.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Perfect for active young professionals

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2018

The overall impression of London City Island is that it is beautiful. The aesthetics are modern and stylish, the design of the flats themselves and the amenities such as a gym, pool, and grocer (and more!) are stunning. Build quality is great. We’ve been here two months and everything has been robust and sturdy, we’ve had no issues whatsoever. We’re also able to maintain a great standard of living, as everyone in my flat is very active having the gym onsite is perfect. Value for money is great – rent isn’t cheap but you get a lot in return for what you pay. Also considering how close it is to the airport, we have absolutely no noise complaints. Only loses a star for a slightly stressful move-in period and the price of rent (even with value for money, it’s still a little steep).

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We like the amenetites onsite and offsite. We have the gym, spa (pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna), grocer, bar and restaurant, and more. We’re also right next to Canning Town station, a co-op and a McDonalds. Downsides are that the area doesn’t really have much nightlife or social stuff, so you have to go on the tube or DLR to find fun things to do on weekends.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known that you need a gym induction before you can start using the gym, even if you’re experienced, and that this might take a few days to set up.

5
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Bit quiet at the moment

Review Date Mar 2018

Quite a few of the island buildings have been built but not finished which means you can start to see the shape of what the future island will be like. Quite a few facilities have been completed – the pool and gym are finished and as someone living here in the early phases we definitely benefit from using these whilst they are brand new and also whilst there are not many other residents on the island competing with you to use them. Location wise it is great to walk across the bridge each morning and catch the DLR – so easy and fast. It is definitely a benefit that the commute is so quick as there is not much happening on the island yet in terms of restaurants etc but I am sure these will be completed and grow as more buildings are completed. At the moment we use The Grocer but it doesn’t really cover all your needs though nice to pick up fancy deli bits or have a glass of wine.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It would have been helpful to have a timeline of what is opening when as this keeps seeming to change

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Safe and welcoming neighbourhood

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

I like that there is a gym and the pool area within the development which is really convenient however it is quite small. The concierge is 24 hours and are so useful when it comes to any issues or deliveries.
The Garden area gets cleaned really regularly and is beautiful during the summer.
Family feel and feels safe as I have never had any security issues.
The hot water has been cut out 3 times in the last 2 months which is due to the construction so I expect it will get better.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The noise from the construction
causes dust on the windows. No shop near the area. And grocer is very minimal and barely has anything in it.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There was no shop in the area and how small the gym which max allows 20 people max.

What is the best feature of your home:

I like the view from the balcony overlooking the garden.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great home and area for my young family

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

There is a lot of things coming into the development such as a film school and football pitches. The apartment was build to a high spec and the view of Canary Wharf is really great. We have two bathrooms which is really spacious for a 2 bedroom apartment.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I think the area feels very safe for my new family and it feels like there is a community. There needs to be more retail but I know it is coming. The ballet performances are really lovely.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing really as we did a lot of research and we knew a lot about it.

What is the best feature of your home:

The view of Canary Wharf from my apartment building

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

It will be one of the best places to live in East London…

Review Date Apr 2019

The future is very bright for City Island. I’ve lived here for over two years now and with the landscaping well underway and looking fantastic, with English National Ballet, London Film School, playing pitches, transport links, amongst many other creative and essential services on the way and not forgetting the shared facilities coming at the Goodluck Hope development, I truly believe this will be one of East London’s best places to live by 2020/21. Brexit or no Brexit!

Please disclose any commercial relationship to this development or developer:

Employed by an agency that acts on behalf of Ballymore, London City Island developer.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Newly built, modern and convenient

Review Date Aug 2019

I like that it’s modern however a little expensive.
It can get a little noisy as the air vents open to the outside and it can disturb our sleep.
Open plan living room is nice and allows a lot of light into the apartment.
There is a small deli and bar within the development which is really lovely however looking forward to the Sainsburys, which is opening up next year.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love the development however I dislike the area as it is a little out dated and there are a lot betting shops and chicken shops around with not much else.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The air vents as they cause a lot of noise pollution.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

they sent someone round to look at the issues quite quickly which was great.

4
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
2
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Fanciful, secluded and safe

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

In general I do believe it is really is well build as the walls don’t allow any noise from the neighbours. The community here feels quite young.
The Open plan living room and kitchen feels really inviting.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the transport links and I feel like it’s really fast into town. I don’t like that the area is a little isolated as there is only 2 roads out of it.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew the lack of shops in the area however I know they are getting built.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The balcony overlooks the river and the wind makes it impossible to sit outside at all times of the year.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

10/10 home, amazing!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The best thing about my home is that it is in a good location, I can get to anywhere I want as it is close to places, it is very clean and safe which is also good.
The building management have also answered any problems I’ve had very quickly.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Positives:
Quiet
Clean
Safe
Good location

Negatives:
Nothing

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing

What is the best feature of your home:

Best feature of my home is that everything is new.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Love being in a development

Review Date Mar 2018

I love it here. It is February snowing and my friends and I swam in the outdoor pool – how amazing is that!! We chose to live here because of the location but also the facilities – it is the first time I have lived in a development and I love the fact that I have a pool and a gym that I can use everyday. I do wish more of the island was complete and can see it is going to take a few years before everything is ready but we couldn’t be happier and would live in a new building now over something old and dated anytime.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

London City Island is essentially a building site but within our completed development we love it, just be aware that building works will take a lot longer

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

About Ballymore Group

The Ballymore Group is an award-winning international property developer based in Ireland, and founded in 1982. The company is behind…
Number of developments 13

4.26

Average rating based on 189 reviews

View company

About EcoWorld

EcoWorld is a leading international property developer with projects that span the residential and commercial sectors. EcoWorld operates in three…
Number of developments 9

4.23

Average rating based on 98 reviews

View company