Embassy Gardens, SW8

By
EcoWorld, Ballymore Group
2nd
Ranked 2nd out of 14 in Nine Elms
3.99 (104 reviews) 3.99 (104 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.28
Facilities
4.34
Design
4.18
Location
3.70
Value
3.38
Management

Embassy Gardens is a mixed-use EcoWorld and Ballymore development, featuring luxury apartments and commercial units and designed by HAL Architects and Sir Terry Farrell CBE. It’s got a prime setting in the waterfront Nine Elms district, close to the River Thames and the US Embassy. In addition, the site is walkable from Vauxhall, Battersea and the in-construction Nine Elms stations. Likewise, it is close to the Southbank Centre and London Bridge.

Read more Read less

Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Visitors/Viewers
Verified
Showing 103 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Great development in London’s new prime spot

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Two pools (incl. a floating sky pool), two gyms, a cinema, study rooms, 24 hours concierge, valet parking, bike storage and more. Is there anything else you need? Unfortunately most has been closed last year because of COVID however that’s out of Ballymore’s control. The property is cleaned regularly and the staff very friendly.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

First class development in an area that’s becoming more and more lively

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Communication could be better at times. There is often unannounced construction work going on and changes to the development come out of the blue (eg building a children’s playground in front of the apartements)

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Usually quite responsive team and most issues have been resolved swiftly

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Lauren

Thank you very much for such positive feedback, we are always striving to exceed expectations and will continue to do so.

We are excited to hear your feedback once the Sky Pool opens.

If you do have any areas of feedback please feel free to contact me.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Best regards,

Darryn Johnson
Residential Service Manager

The Highs & Lows of Developments

Review Date May 2022

The architecture of the buildings is not very comfortable specially the access from my building to the concierge, gym, and other facilities like the swimming pool. I also dislike the fact that there is an unequal distribution of security between the different buildings within the same development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s an up and coming neighborhood with different things to do. Traffic seems not to be an issue and it is relatively safe and very clean.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The ballymore management

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very poorly, needed to repeat and never gotten anything fixed and if anything did get fixed it needed a million phone calls and a thousand pointless vists from “engineers”

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great Location and Looks Good – but Lacks Care and Thought.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

The location is the biggest plus point. The facilities are good but upkeep and maintenance can be problematic and it’s fair to say there are frequent problems. Design looks good BUT is in general poorly thought through with little focus on the user experience. Many features should have been afforded much more care at the outset.
The Skypool is the epitome of the style over substance fault of this development. It is a technical and engineering marvel and it looks great. But in reality it is all flash but pretty pointless. Yes it’s fun but the whole area is appallingly designed and ill thought through. Very poor entry system. Very difficult for the staff to cope on the few hot days of a typical British Summer when the pool is rammed. And its almost impossible to enforce rules. For several months of the year it remains largely unused. There’s no outdoor showers, no proper indoor kitchen for the restaurant…etc etc. The owners didn’t ask for it but are now lumbered with paying for the hugely substantial running costs…
But it’s a wonderful advertising hoarding for Ballymore!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Embassy Gardens is excellently situated. The area has seen a dramatic change over the past 5 years and whilst there’s still a few years of building development in the Nine Elms district the area is establishing itself as a vibrant exciting place to live. Excellent transport links. And a pleasant riverside walk to Southbank and into the West End. A good and growing number of restaurants and bars and in close proximity to the Battersea Power Station Development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We enjoy living here and can draw on the many positives of the area, the convenience and the community – we have made several friends and have enjoyed many fun evenings and other social occasions.
There is a sense here that the original build was done adhering to a bare minimum, problems are difficult to rectify and costs now are just pushed onto the service charge payers. Perhaps this shouldn’t be a surprise ?
On balance the negatives are far outweighed by the positives. (I can easily put the frustrations aside!)
I think though you have to accept that things are what they are – I doubt the situation here is much different to any other development.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Staff are on the whole responsive – and (very simple) matters are usually dealt with effectively, perhaps even with a smile.
In general staff do their best (sometimes under testing circumstances) to be helpful and to try and sort issues. However there have been many matters raised over the 5 years I have lived here that have seemingly proved too difficult.
A major downside at this development – and here’s the rub – is that the property management company is owned by the developer. The management company are therefore in a sense a servant to two masters…..the flat owners who pay the service charge and their ultimate bosses, Ballymore. This makes for an uneasy relationship and there has been an extraordinarily high turnover of management staff over the last 5 years – virtually all senior roles have changed 2 or 3 times, which I think speaks volumes. I think we are now on our 5th Development director in 5 years…..
Partly perhaps because of such frequent staff changes, accountability is an issue and there seems to be a lack of robust process and systems.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Will,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have embraced the community here at Embassy Gardens and are enjoying the wider experience in Nine Elms.

Thank you for your feedback regarding design and user experience, we will be sure to pass this on to our development team.

If at any point you wish to discuss anything further, please feel free to visit the concierge desk and ask to speak to our Head Concierge or myself, additionally you can raise a ticket for our attention via Eg Life.

Best regards,

Darryn Johnson
Residential Service Manager

Design is impeccable

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

Design is impeccable, facilities are super albeit the odd maintenance issue shutting down the pools etc. Gym is fab, management fees are crazy and so much waste of their expenditure that it is frustrating to see (for example excessive gym staff, forced to use valets to park cars)

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A huge amount of development is ongoing, there are new restaurants and coffee shops continuing to pop up and battersea power station will be beautiful once completed, but the area is a bit industrial currently.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is a mice issue throughout the resort, I would ask for a high apartment.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have been very slow to act with regard to a mice infestation

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Defitzpa,

Thank you kindly for your feedback on Embassy Gardens.

We are pleased to hear that you are happy with the facilities, design and growth of all our amazing commercial units.

Regarding your outstanding issue, could you please kindly contact our Head Concierge via Headconcierge@embassy-gardens.net, who will be more than happy to help, if this is found to be a communal issue we will of course look into addressing this.

Best regards,

Darryn Johnson
Residential Service Manager

Living in embassy gardens

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

beautiful design and good storage for clothes and items, very smart and advanced technology, the building and layout is very organized and well thought of. the apartment is very spacious and comfortable.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

it is a good area for students and i find it very convenient to live here. There is a waitrose right next to my apartment and cafes and restaurants which makes it very convenient

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

there is nothing in particular that i had struggled with except for getting used to a new flat to live in. in these situations, i get used to and adapt to my new living environment with time and once i have gotten all my necessities

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

very attentive and helpful whenever i had any issue, whether it be big or small. they are always trying their best to give me the best solutions

5
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Lulu,

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive feedback on life here at Embassy Gardens.

We are pleased that you have embraced being part of our strong community.

Kind regards,

Darryn Johnson
Residential Service Manager

Intasgramable but not practical

Review Date Apr 2022

Not a great value for the money. The property and facilities management is poor. Rarely do things get resolved. Items around the development have required repair for months. The management never resolves truly resolves issues and facilities will rarely fix anything you call attention to.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Poor management across the board. Horrible communications as well.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I have nothing to say here so I’ll just put this statement to take up 50 characters.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are horrible at responding to any issues raised. It’s been this way for years with no noticeable improvement despite assurances.

2
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that you have not had the best experience living here at Embassy Gardens so far, we very much would like to hear about any issue you feel the management are struggling to resolve here and would love to sit down with you and see how we can address them.

Please email our Head Concierge via Headconcierge@embassy-gardens.net who will gladly arrange a time to meet with you and discuss your concerns.

Best regards,

Darryn Johnson
Residential Service Manager

A Fantastic Place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2022

Management team is always keeping the residents informed about the latest features in the development, or if any of the facilities are undergoing maintenance (which is always very prompt)
There is a wide array of facilities to keep everyone satisfied. They have also been implementing a fair use policy for the sky pool, to ensure everyone gets to enjoy it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Since moving in, I’ve seen the entire surrounding area rapidly develop with a lovely community feel – and Embassy Gardens is right at the center of it.
All the staff at the development is extremely friendly and super helpful. The facilities and amenities provided by the development also ensure that everything we need is onsite.
The team is always look for feedback and asking the residents what they would like to see in terms of shops / stores. More and more restaurants are opening up and making the neighborhood more attractive day by day.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How quickly the area is transforming into a lovely and busy neighborhood with many attractions on offer

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very responsive team. Sometimes the issue required external contractors who have been delayed / limited availability. But otherwise always attending to the issues

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Omar,

Thank you for you wonderful feedback.

We are pleased to know that you call Embassy Gardens your home and have embraced being part of our community.

Additionally we appreciate your kind words about the team and I will be sure to pass on your feedback.

Best regards,

Darryn Johnson
Residential Service Manager

After one year living here, I can not wait to move out. Absolutely do not recommend this development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2022

The facilities are great but, sadly, very poorly managed to a point where the Skypool has become undesirable by the residents. No enough pool lounges, no way to sunbathe when there is sun, in the rare times the bar and restaurant is opened, there are very limited options of food and drinks and you can’t bring anything from home either. The Skypool is one of the most overpriced and overrated facility there is. Whilst you’re there, it’s extremely unpleasant. Only worth for pics on social media.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location and transportation is good but, not many options of shops and restaurants within walking distance

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew how badly managed this place is. I was so excited to use the Skypool and, in 13 months, I have been there less than 5 times. The staff makes the place extremely unpleasant

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No, never. Myself and several other residents have complained numerous times. No improvements have ever been made

4
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Rony,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are sorry to hear that you have not great experience regarding the Sky Pool, For the upcoming Spring/Summer we have made some positive changes that we hope will change your experience to a more positive one.

Kind regards,

Darryn Johnson
Residential Service Manager

Love Embassy Gardens

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2022

Development is great. The facilities are top class, especially the sky pool. The only problem with it is that there were reports of leakage in the sauna and hammam, which should be resolved as soon as possible. The inside pool in the ambassador is also great, I try to use it as much as possible.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Majority of the stuff is good

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They responded in a reasonable timeframe, although could have been quicker.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon Roman,

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are pleased that you call Embassy Gardens your home.

As per your comments, please be assured our Management team will do our best to improve quicker responses.

Best regards,

Residential Service Manager

Special place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2022

Well managed and great facilities that have been designed in a way to be attractive to all. The swimming pools offer variety and the outdoor one in particular has a wow factor. The gyms are great and the site will only benefit further from additional amenity

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Amazing development on lovely location. Well managed and a place I am looking to buy as a current private tenant.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The booking system for the outdoor pool makes it challenging to get slots in the summer

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

With ease and at speedy rate. It is a well used estate so this is important

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon Tom,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Best regards,

Residential Service Manager

We really like Embassy Gardens

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2022

We really like Embassy Gardens. The facilities are great and give us a great variety of things on the daily basis. We also really like the proximity to central London which makes it a convinient living.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Facilities are very good but it has been quite a lot of maintenance work lately with restricted access to facilities.
Management team is very helpful and supportive. We had a Birthday party recently with last minute cancellation of the venue in our building and the EG management team were able to provide us with a different venue last minute – very helpful and understanding approach.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

A lot of construction around the area

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The EG management has been very supportive and understanding and helped us to resolve a few issues we had in a very time sensitive manner.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon Nadja,

Thank you for your amazing feedback on Embassy Gardens.

We are so pleased that you have settled in on making EG your home and are part of our strong community.

Pleased to hear that our Management team and staff are looking after you well

Best regards,

Residential Service Manager

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8

Facilities

24 Hours

24 Hours

Balcony

Balcony

On Site Cafe

On Site Cafe

Cinema

Cinema

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Communal Gardens

Communal Gardens

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Private Dining

Private Dining

Resident Events

Resident Events

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Security

Security

Swimming Pool

Swimming Pool

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by EcoWorld

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by Ballymore Group

Location

Ballymore Group
Number of developments 15

4.16

Average rating based on 559 reviews

View company
EcoWorld
Number of developments 3

4.26

Average rating based on 361 reviews

View company