Elephant Park, SE1

Elephant Park, SE1

Lendlease
Ranked 4th out of 142 in South East London

Rating Details

4.57 (based on 22 reviews) 4.57 (22 reviews)

Excellent

59%

Very Good

41%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Category Scores

4.32
Facilities
4.59
Design
4.50
Location
4.27
Value
4.40
Management

A large-scale regeneration project in Elephant & Castle, Elephant Park by Lendlease is a mixed-use development which features 3,000 new homes alongside new shops, restaurants and cafes. It is the UK’s first climate-positive development, which includes an Energy Hub to provide net-zero carbon heat and hot water to all homes at Elephant Park.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Plans to build with the community

I was so impressed with the ethos of the Elephant Park developers and it is why I chose to move to South Gardens. Like so much of London communities are under seige from new developments and developers need to bring something new, support the community but also not lose the history of an area. I think it is right that these big developers who are making a lot of money out of the development are giving back and investing in community services. London does not need more of the haves and have nots living side by side but we need to create shared values and experiences.

I love that the developers have made a commitment to name all streets and buildings at Elephant Park based on suggestions from the local community. Examples on South Gardens include Bodley Way and Eider Street, which were both streets before the Heygate Estate went up and match very closely to the new streets that have now been built. The new buildings at Elephant Park have also been named based on community suggestions and the tallest building on South Gardens has been called Baldwin Point, after the famous herbalists on Walworth Road, G Baldwin & Co. Lendlease have also made a commitment to replace all trees that have to be uprooted by the works and plant more to increase the greener and green spaces being offered to the community.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are great local market and farmer markets, try east street market for buying all your fresh food

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A Sanctuary for the Mind and Body, Elephant Park is my Dream Home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2018

Elephant Park encompasses all the main factors I looked for in a long term investment in central London. Firstly, the price was affordable for a high specification project set amidst a generous layout of green spaces with well planned amenities for everyone, young and old. The interior space, of my 3-room flat, in particular is very well designed and comes equipped with superior quality appliances and fittings, to ensure better reliability and durability. The communal areas too enjoy a high level of maintenance and upkeep, and with the upcoming opening of the Central Shopping Street, Elephant Park will undoubtedly become a residential landmark in Central London .. Hooray!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The estate is large, so one need to assess the distance to the E&C Underground station and be comfortable with that..

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good service, amenities, location and design factor

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2018

When I moved to Elephant Park we were very surprised at how smooth and speedy the transition was. The concierge and handover team helped us move in the furniture and showed us around, and this was very smooth and pleasant, unlike in many other projects.

Also, as a cyclist, I appreciated the emphasis on bike racks, and the close proximity to central London by bicycle. The quality of the interiors was also very impressive, for this price point.

So all in all we are very happy with the amenities, the location and the design factor. Cannot wait to see the shops open up one by one, and a full community comes into place at Elephant Park.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Maybe nearby food choices

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Keep the local community

Fingers crossed – we are just going through the process to apply for the help to buy at Elephant Park. I have grown up in the area but was feeling it would be impossible to buy here. The community is being affected by increasing property prices as more professionals move to the area who don’t care about their neighbours and the people living in their area. For me this is home and my parents and friends still live nearby. I think the government legislation making sure these new developments have to support locals looking to buy will ensure that Elephant Park don’t just become faceless blocks. Some buildings are completed but the main island has nothing built yet so some of the timelines on the website seem optimistic.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Beautiful

Our buiding is beautiful and the developer has done a fantastic job with ensuring the design fits in with other buildings. The thing I love the most is the size of the windows, there is so much light coming into the flat. We are still in a bit of a no mans land of development – so much building works going on – and a lot of the promised landscaping hasn’t been completed. That being said there are amazing places right on your doorstep – check out Mercato Metropolitano for an amazing atmostphere, food and great place to hang out with friends. It is a 25 minute walk to the river – Borough Market, London Bridge.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in: Without the landscaping promised completed it is quite a grey concrete city in the immediate area and I feel I have to walk away from home to see some of the beauty of London

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Without the landscaping promised completed it is quite a grey concrete city in the immediate area and I feel I have to walk away from home to see some of the beauty of London

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great apartment in Zone 1 limit

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2019

The development is in a great location, excellent connection to Central London (30 min walk to Bank or Piccadilly Circus), well connected by public transport. The quality of the apartments is good, as they were built in 2016. Overall I am enjoying living here. The only thing I dislike is that the balcony is in a busy intersection and tends to be noisy (ambulances, police, motorbikes..).

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Walk to Central London

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If buying the apartment for the view, take into account how much is being built in the area.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Fantastic design and value for money

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2018

I am surprisingly delighted by Elephant Park’s design features, and its adherence to the eco / green philosophy it marketed itself by. In most cases, developers only pay lip service, but this was legit.
One of my favourite features is the South Garden green area, and the fact that the gym overlooks the gardens. It makes for a very tranquil exercise experience.
Also, the lady from Lendlease that helped us move in, showing us the amenities, was very helpful.

All in all, a very surprisingly positive experience, and value for money for this location!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish we knew the gym size

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A lovely place to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2018

Overall a very nice development, lots of green space and doesn’t feel too new. The developer are still on site and generally helpful although some standards (e.g planting) have deteriorated since the development opened. The neighbors are great, and there is a lovely social feel.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

So close to everywhere! Walking distance into town. Still some areas of building site so lots of road closures etc.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The awsome diverse food shops on Walworth road

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Love everything of the apartment

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

To be honest I love everything about my apartment, it’s great in every aspect. Has been nicely designed and is spacious. Has been perfectly located and the neighbours I live next to are very nice to each other.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close proximity to the city which is great for professional working people. Plenty shops and shopping centres nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There isn’t anything I would have wanted to know before moving here

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice modern place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The house has been nicely designed and isn’t exactly classic but more modern instead which I prefer. Its clean and comfortable for us and the facilities are good. There isn’t anything I particularly dislike at all.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The environment is really quiet, there isn’t much noise despite the fact that we’re next to quite a busy street. Very Convenient in terms of transport links especially to central London. However there aren’t much shops or super markets or supermarkets nearby and there could be more eating places as there aren’t any.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There isn’t anything I would have wanted to know before moving here

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Peaceful area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The property is perfect for 2 people and has the right amount of space. Relatively quite apartment with hardly any noise from surrounding neighbours. The quality of the building is pretty good too and has been well designed.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Well connected area so it’s easy to get to. The shops are relatively close by too. It’s also really quiet!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There isn’t anything I would have wanted to know before moving here

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice warm apartment

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The apartment has been well constructed. It’s really warm aswell so I never really need to turn the heating on. The design is good and it’s pretty spacious. It is quite expensive to live here but I would say it’s relatively worth it’s value.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is well connected in terms of transport. Relatively close to central London so it’s easy to get by however there aren’t much bars and restaurants nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There isn’t anything I would have wanted to know before moving here

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

5star

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Still very noisy and close to the road, it very spacious for me and my friends living together, transportation isn’t an issue, very easy to access restaurants but would be better if there was local shops such as: tesco and sainsburys

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very naturerous, the tarffic creates loads of noise
the neighbours are freindly
so quite safe

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How am i able to purchase another place like this for a friend

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location and well designed

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Very spacious and well designed. Private garden in a way, but it is shared within the central courtyard with the other residents of the development. It also has a nice balcony attached at the front…

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very close to shops and Central london, great transport links

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Need to pay separately for hot water, which I did not realise at first

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Decent

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

I dislike the rent but everything else is 5star, the facilities and and the design are all good, the neighbours are welcoming and friendly. Transportation is easy to access. The area is very much safe, i haven’t witnessed or heard about crime , so i’m pleased.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Its essential and convenient, everythings near by. A local shopping centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No nothing at all

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

About Lendlease

Lendlease is a leading international property and infrastructure group. It has worked on a number of high profile developments –…
Number of developments 7

4.44

Average rating based on 84 reviews

View company