Berewood, PO7

Berewood, PO7

By
Grainger
Ranked 10th out of 12 in Hampshire
3.81 (12 reviews) 3.81 (12 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.50
Facilities
3.75
Design
4.08
Location
3.50
Value
2.75
Management

Excellent

17%

Very Good

75%

Average

8%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Berewood is located in South Hampshire, the market town of Waterlooville. As well as having a primary school within walking distance, there are food shops, bus stops and a train station within proximity. The development is ‘build to rent’, with a range of 2,3 & 4 bedroom homes.

 

 

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

All the homes look nice and are good sizes.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

All the homes look nice and are good sizes.
Need a small local shop on the estate for convenience and a new docs etc as the area is really over subscribed.
Nice to have so many nature reserves to walk the dog/take children out.
Granger property management are not good.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very quiet, well maintained, nice looking homes.
Granger have not been very good at managing the property.
We are now buying in the same area because it’s nice

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Lots of really weird bugs around!
Doctors very over prescribed

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Not very quickly, takes a lot of chasing and they always want to do the bare minimum

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A pleasant place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Development design is slightly anachronistic, however the ongoing building works may change this for the future. Mainly the result of the various developers who have built properties here there’s ab interesting mix of flat blocks, traditional detached housing and your usual carbon copy new builds. There’s plenty of green spaces to enjoy should you wish.

Property / building management is largely good, with prompt and efficient responses to raised issues and a polite and friendly team to deal with.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Berewood is located conveniently within easy access to rail and bus routes, particularly Havant station (only 15 mins away by car) makes it easy to commute in and out of London if needed. Local amenities are lacking, with waterlooville high street mainly comprised of charity and budget retailers with few reputable dining and drinking establishments.

Tenant parking is fine however there is a lack of visitor spaces, but overall the development is a quiet and peaceful place to live.

Kid friendly, there are parks and a nearby skatepark however these suffer from the usual late night teenager hangouts which can cause the odd disturbance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Ground floor flats can be noisy thanks to heavy outside doors that can slam if not careful.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, mostly promptly And to a high standard although I do have one outstanding issue which requires a resolution.

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Property management company appears very efficient

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

I am in a one bed flat that is very convenient for me with all white goods supplied and are. more than sufficient and efficient for my requirements, not sure how well a couple would survive in this particular environment. my particular flat is a little on the cold side as no direct sun but is ok. my Property management company appears very efficient although have not had much cause to call on them but have always responded timely and efficiently.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local shops within 10 minute walk just about all eventualities covered plenty of open spaces around for walking cycling etc.busses are OK although don’t use them no really close rail links would need transport to access. a little noise here as opposite industrial estate and road noise was an issue with Warbutons nearby although that seems to have been temporary. parking OK bins are well done here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

no real issues to suggest as I live a secluded life and all is ok for me.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The only issue I have raised was with inappropriate parking on pavements, this is still happening although not quite so problematic. Their response was to issue an email which had little to no effect.

5
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great development with lots of promise.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

Really nice development overall, although some features are not yet completed (doctor’s surgery, shop, pub, etc) which were on the older plans. The community is relatively nice the main thoroughfare road (Houghton Avenue) could use some speed control though.

The property manager is very nice and contact is fast and seamless. Some niggling issues are ongoing, but in light of Covid, this is to be expected.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Really close to the A3 for getting around, good access to the local town shops and gym.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Be aware that cars on the two through roads (Houghton and Grainger) tend to travel fairly fast. But the development is generally peaceful and pleasant to look at. The community events shared (currently digitally) by Grainger are amazing to see, and the little extras (like Christmas lights on the roundabout) etc make it a welcoming environment all around.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature is the location, which allows easy access to the town and a quick way to the motorway.

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely development, poorly managed.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

It’s a new build so it is well built and the design of the building and the apartments is of a high quality. Unfortunately space was not considered when putting in parking spaces and the bin stores. Also the nice design of the properties is let down by the property management is let down as it is not kept to a good standard and it takes a lot of time and effort to get them to sort things. In these COVID times you would expect an apartment to be cleaned to a high level before you move in, unfortunately this was not the case for us. It was in such poor condition considering it was a new build.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Waterlooville as an area is a good one to live in. There are plenty of shops, restaurants and pubs. Could use a cinema or bowling centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We wish we had known how slow the management company were at dealing with problems.

What is the best feature of your home:

The kitchen/ living room is the centre point of our apartment. We love how the kitchen feels separated from the living room even though they are in the same space. The overall design of the property is very nice.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good Value for Money

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

From the outside the building is very presentable!

Can’t say I’m the biggest fan of the dark wood floor on the ground level, only come to realise this as we started to buy the furniture for the lounge and my preferred colour scheme doesn’t look great in contrast with the floor but oh well…

If there are any issues those do get fixed, however it does take a lot of chasing (not Grainger’s fault – more the lazy management)

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

M&S is just down the road which is great! Community is lovely, neighbours are very respectful and no loud noises which is great for those of us who work from home!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the only broadband provider who agrees to take on the address is BT or sky….

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

My dishwasher was replaced – but this took a lot of nagging.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good new development with easy access to transport links

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

This is good, new, and up-to-date development with good facilities and transport links to the A3 and Southsea. The flat some cells are well maintained and clean and newly refurbished. There are plenty of parking facilities available which is extremely convenient for residents and visitors. However there are still some ongoing building works taking place which at times can be noisy and disruptive to travel. This is a good development with good amenities and design.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Easy access to A3 and Southsea.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Building work was still ongoing.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Responded appropriately. They have sent out people as required.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Room for improvement

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

There are plenty of parks for small and big kids, and a nature reserve that has just been complete. Otherwise there is nothing to do other than walk. The overall design of Berewood is good in terms of look, but certain things could have been planned better.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Well located. Close to major supermarkets and motorway. Parking is poor, only availability for one car per household and then there are just 4 visitor spots which get taken up by people with second cars.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How many issues there were with the apartment. There are certain things you can can’t seem from first glance. We were informed it had been cleaned to a high quality, it certainly hadn’t. It took us a week to get it to our cleanliness level.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

If it’s a quick fix then they are usually Wuxi to respond, however larger issuers can take ages, like over a year!

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good property

Review Date Sep 2021

Overall a good development, downside for us was poor property management, with faults around the property from previous tenant, inspections not done or done incorrect resulting in us getting maintenance done privately

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very close to shops, quiet street and surrounding area some nice short walks for dogs available too however no bins available for dog waste

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

None

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Was an Ongoing dispute before and after moved in. Currently in process of submitting an invoice of the private works we had to get done

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice and serene neighbourhood but ghastly management

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Design is very modern and the estate is well planned. It is still under development but in the future it looks quite promising as new developments and facilities are underway. However the property management is the worst I have ever encountered. Property manager at Grainger never bothered replying to email and they are just fobbing me off whenever i called them.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Safe and quiet neighbourhood and close to amenities. This estate is extremely Pet friendly with lots of nature reserve trail to walk your dog.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If i’d known the management is this poor, I would’ve reconsidered my choice to move in here.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The management is appalling and the worst I have ever encountered. I moved in about 2 months ago and I have been trying to get a water metre reading and the key to the bike store but the property manager, Yvonne Leggett never bothered to answer the call or reply to my email. Even though she did promise to give me the reading on 22/9, but she blew me off. I still have not gotten a reply from the management team to date.

4
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Grainger
Number of developments 23

4.20

Average rating based on 519 reviews

View company