B5 Central, B5

B5 Central, B5

By
Barratt Homes
1st
Ranked 1st out of 26 in West Midlands
4.37 (14 reviews) 4.37 (14 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.36
Facilities
4.43
Design
4.71
Location
4.43
Value
4.21
Management

Excellent

57%

Very Good

36%

Average

7%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

B5 Central is a development of homes and luxury apartments by Barratt Homes, situated right in the heart of Birmingham city centre.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

The development is good.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The development is good.
Barratt Homes have been very helpful in fixing the old bits here and there.
The design is pleasing to look at and it works for what it is.
They use Ground Solutions to maintain the landscape surrounding the area and I have seen them quite often.
Overall, Barratt Homes provided a very good service throughout the purchasing phase as well as customer care.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is just about 15/20 minutes away from the grand central train station in Birmingham and bus routes are easily accessible. It’s just a short walk away from china town so it’s very convenient.
Parking requires a permit so if you have more than one car then it isn’t ideal as only one space is available per household. This development site is near a busy main road and with a hospital nearby then you will hear the emergency services passing by atleast once a day. The area itself is nearby a deprived area so there have been incidences of anti-social behavior. However, there have been some CCTV installed outside some apartment buildings as a deterrent.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I was completely enamored with their show home so I was a little disappointed when I found that my home lacked the same finesse. However, that is to be expected. I would just say to inspect the property through for paint chipping, missing silicon, just the little things. The after care is superb so getting little things done afterwards is easy and straightforward.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Their after care team is very good. Their response times have been suerb despite being in a pandemic.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location. Perfect for young working couple or small family!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The design of the apartment is perfect, airy, carefully planned and the decor was spot on to my taste. I love the bathroom so much! Corner apartment meant I have more windows than anticipated which is amazing! It can get very warm in here and the Fan Boost feature doesn’t really work or maybe I haven’t figured out how to use it correctly. The lifts / hallways are always tidy and I regularly see the maintenance and cleaner guys.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Brilliant clean location, walking distance from the city centre and my place of work. Lovely and quiet most evenings. Parking unavailable which is inconvenient as that was very important to me. Bins tidy. Residents lovely. Traffic can get a bit much and I can see accidents regularly from my living room window as there’s a huge roundabout. I only drive in the area on quiet mornings or late evenings as it’s quite off putting.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew there was no parking, I was sold the property with knowledge that I was allowed to park in any of the public bays at the back of the building but was issued with a parking ticket around 2 months after moving in. When I queried it turns out I need a permit, but I wasn’t allowed one because my landlord didn’t give permission. I was happy to pay for a permit for the year but could not accommodate despite the bays being empty most of the time

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They were very helpful with an issue I had regarding keys.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  B5 Central, B5
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely new build houses and apartments in central Birmingham.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Lovely new build houses and apartments in central Birmingham. Clean and new when we moved in. Lovely space for a couple, with a spare bedroom and 3 bathrooms (1 en suit). Big living area with lovely doors which look out to the garden. Reasonable kitchen space with fridge, cooker and washing machine included.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local shops about a 5 minute walk, Co-op and cost cutter about a 10 minute walk. Close to town, 15 minute walk, lots of restaurants and bars. Close to bus stops, 3 minute walk, trains 15 minute walk. Parking space with permit outside house, lovely area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are 3 bathrooms in the house as it was advertised as 2. Also to put that white goods are included in the house advertisement as we had to ask.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We are in contact with Martin and co through email and they generally respond and help when needed.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Highly recommend, great place to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The buildings are only 3 stories so not too high rise, the blocks are well spaced out and the apartments are really bright. The layout of the apartment makes it feel like a house rather than a 1 bed apartment. Any issues we have had in the building have been sorted promptly by the management company and any time I have a query I have received a quick response by phone or email

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Really good location – 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk from the city centre, very close to a number of large supermarkets, good availability street parking for visitors (and on site parking for residents), fairly quiet road and minimal disturbances late at night

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I can’t think of anything I wish I had known before

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I had no issues when I moved in with any of the building work or fittings but any questions I have had they have answered promptly

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location

Review Date Sep 2021

Quiet, clean and modern.
One bedroom apartment but spacious. Quiet neighborhood. Gated parking through sometimes you do get people parking in your space which can often be inconvenient. Locked bin shed and bike shed to tucked away nicely. Building management are located at the end of the road.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location – 10 min walk to city centre give or take. Limited shops within the immediate vicinity but you have a post office and a co-op for all essential needs.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The building is often hard for people to find as the building name is not very big so you have to direct people when delivering food etc

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, they have been great. Helped with any technical issues when settling I.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I love living in my flat. And will be here for years to come hopefully

Review Date Sep 2021

I’ve been at my flat since December. As soon as i seen the video for the virtual guide i knew it was the perfect place for me. And the management are so helpful whenever I have phoned them for a problem I needed sorted. As for the flat its perfect location to walk into town to.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Plenty of parking perfect flats with on_suits and peaceful neighbours. I’ve been living here 11 months and its perfect

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I have not had any issues with neighbours since I have been here

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes whenever I’ve had a problem or issue they have helped straightaway

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very good place to live would recommend for new owners

Review Date Sep 2021

The design of the building is quite modern as it brings a modern effect to the community making the area stand out even more. Where the buildings are positioned is perfect as it isn’t to far from the town centre and is pretty close to everything within the Birmingham area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lovely place to live but apartments are a bit small but overall nice place

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I would of know how small the hallway was as I struggled to fit some of my furniture in the apartment

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good development, and great service

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Good development, and great service
Would have liked to have a balcony but otherwise the space is good! Good room sizes, no structural issues. The living space could be slightly bigger but for the price paid I am happy with what I have got! I would recommend

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close to city centre amenities and transport links
It is very close to a rundown estate and there have been some incidences of antisocial behaviour which have seemed to resolve as of late

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It was good to know the flat was under warranty for 3 years

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes they have and will strive to rectify the problem

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Flats are well designed, spacious, very modern looking.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Design:
Flats are well designed, spacious, very modern looking.

Facilities:
Built in elevator, bin room and bike shed, which are all very useful to have.

Building management:
The building and facilities are well kept.

Property management:
No compliants with the management of the property.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good Aspects:
Proximity to city centre/train station
Parking availability is good

Bad Aspects:
Not close to shops

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known more measurements of the property before moving in which would allow me to order more household items before moving in, however this is a very minor point.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any issues I have raised have been resolved in a timely manner.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

No issue arises so far.

Review Date Sep 2021

Management hired landscape and design company to come on weekly basis to make sure the area is kept to a high standard.

The development is gated, partially. As much as it gives protection for car, pedestrians could still access the area which give rises to potential house break-in, which has happened a few times.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The nearest shop is at least five minutes walk, therefore it is a bit far (unless if you have a car).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Crime cases around this area is particularly high, need to take note of this.

Smell from slaughterhouse nearby.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No issue arises so far. However the building has been equipped with Hyperoptic, so it’s really nice.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of B5 Central, B5

Location

Number of developments 41

3.97

Average rating based on 541 reviews

View company