Acton Gardens, W3

Acton Gardens, W3

Countryside, L&Q
Ranked 37th out of 125 in West London

Rating Details

3.77 (based on 33 reviews) 3.77 (33 reviews)

Excellent

21%

Very Good

55%

Average

12%

Disappointing

9%

Very Poor

3%

Category Scores

3.97
Facilities
3.82
Design
4.33
Location
3.52
Value
3.17
Management

Acton Gardens is a 52-acre redevelopment scheme with 3,400 new homes on site, each with their own private balcony or terrace. Neighbouring Chiswick and Shepherds Bush, residents are situated between five train stations including South Acton and Acton Town with connections to Overground services as well as to the District and Piccadilly line.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Poor quality homes and even worse management

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2019

I’ve lived here since phase 1 of Acton Gardens was built in 2013. One word: Avoid.

Issues:

Poor quality fittings
All the door handles had to be changed within a year of normal use. The locksmith we engaged told us that the handles and doors were of poor quality in the first place which was why they broke so quickly.Lift breakdown
Within the first year, the only lift in the building used to break down every alternate week for about a period of 6-12 months until residents protested against paying the increase in service charge until a new lift was fitted. This inconvenience has caused the elderly and disabled a lack of access and frankly should be illegal.

Hot water
It’s been about 6 years since phase 1, and we’ve been having issues with the communal boilers / power cuts up till today. The hot water would be down for long periods especially over winter and any fix would only be temporary. It’s come to a point where you can’t take being able to have a warm shower for granted.

Communications
We are currently receiving text messages informing us of any outages – primarily hot water related issues. However, this usually comes much later after we have reported it to the L&Q emergency number, which might be useful to some, but not the majority who have had to experience it firsthand. When reporting and asking for updates on outages, helplines are staffed with rude CS agents who sound like they need additional training / are inadequately informed by the service/operations team, so they are not in a position to provide proper updates.
What is concerning is that these issues (hot water, broken lifts and poor quality fittings) are not unique to Acton Gardens. Properties all over the country by L&Q are experiencing similar issues. A simple search online would surface lots of examples. Save your hard-earned money for another place with a developer who genuinely wants to provide quality homes.
Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area itself is fine being close to South Acton overground and Acton Town tube. There has been a growth in amenities around the high street too.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had done more research into the issues L&Q developments have been facing all over the country. The amount of grief this development has given me and other residents is unimaginable.

1
Facilities
2
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good and safe area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The communal areas are cleaned regularly and my apartment is great. What I don’t like is that there isn’t enough parking spaces and it makes it hard to find one after work.

My building is one of the first ones around here and it doesn’t have concierge and security services like the newer ones do. Another thing is that we have a leak in the apartment that they don’t know how to fix.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is quite safe and new. Transport is very easy here.

But there are too many buildings now and it is getting crowded.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We were not told about all the construction works that were going to happen and it is a lot more crowded now because of all the buildings.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have had some issues with the apartment and they have responded quick and efificient to them but still haven’t been able to fix the leak in our apartment.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

It is a nice area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

My apartment is good but smaller than my previous accommodations and more expensive. The walls are very thin and neighbours complain when I play music.
The design is nice.
I have balcony but don’t like to use it because it is so close to other buildings I feel like I’m getting into people’s privacy and there’s not really any view.

My flat is a bit cold in winter as well.

I have had some issues with the toilet and the heating but was quickly resolved by my landlord.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Convenient area. Easy to get to shops and it is well connected to Central London.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew the heating was faulty.

5
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

It is quite a busy area now

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

Not having to use stairs is one of the best benefits of my flat. The lift is usually working well.

My flat is well ventilated, cool in the summer and warm during winter. It is spacious for one bedroom.
Its design is good and there are some lovely community gardens.
The building management are doing good and there are people cleaning the communal areas.
We had a leak and my landlord was quick to response.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I have been living in the area for 30 years now and there is too many people compared to before.
I have some lovely neighbours. It is a good community where I live.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

When I first moved in there was not this many buildings and it would have been nice to let us know earlier for all the buildings there is now.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good design

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

Walls are too thin which is a terrible design fault, it keeps us up at night.

Design is good inside and utilities are adequate. Park acts as a garden which is more than okay given its size and greenery.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

High crime rates are extremely off putting. Burglaries have occurred frequently on the bottom floors.

Park is great space

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Ground rent clauses doubling every ten years – had to fight to get them removed

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We had a broken door which took a year to fix, being a massive security risk. Poor management down to poor experience in my opinion, developers are not used to this scale / size.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good area to live in

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2020

I actually don’t like to be able to share communal areas with other building, we had several problems with it already. Overall design of the buildings is good, although you could have added the top floors as terraces for use of some flats. The management is average in my opinion, there is nothing special.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is really good, very close to transport options and different lines, what facilitates when something goes wrong. The area is well maintained and clean, with a few exceptions coming from council houses. All buildingds around have a good design. There are not many shops in the development (apart from Sainbury’s that is really handy) but with a short walk either to Chiswick or Acton you can find more options. Parking is a big problem, if you are building a brand new building, make space for everyone that lives there to park, it is just silly to not do that. Also is a shame there is no space around for barbecuing.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The re-sale fee is abusive (there is an obligation to sell via housing association for there first months). It was clear the % charged would be on the market value of the property and not on my share, btw I still have doubts if I am being fooled around.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice developing area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

My flat is well designed and quite spacious for the local standards.
The kitchen is good and its open plan. I like how my partner is divided. We have a roof top garden available but don’t really use it often because I like my balcony better.

Cleaning of the communal areas is included but building management could improve.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is residential. It is quickly developing but calm. It is not a busy neighbourhood.
It would be better to have more options for shops and dog parks.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We were not told that parking is so restricted here.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

There is not really anything I would change except for the size of the apartment.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice area but not completely safe

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

My flat is quite spacious. The design is good. I like that my kitchen is really functional. I also have a laundry room. The best thing about my flat is that I have a roof terrace, which I love.

One things I dislike is that my landlord takes too much time to fix issues we’ve had in the flat.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is easy to get to places and big shops. However, there are not many children activities and there is some robbery in the area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We were not told about all the faults that were going to happen along the way like the lift keeps breaking as well as the main doors.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

You’re in London but you can chill, nice suburb area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

Nice flat in London in a nice area with a park view that you can come back to and chill. Public transport is good and there have been some new public amenities promised – like a coffee shop – which would really benefit the area, somewhere to hang out in before or after taking the kids to the park. I’ve lived here for 6 years and started encountering some issues with hot water after 4 though which you wouldn’t expect from a new build. All in all though I’m happy with my place.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Public transport links are great and there are a lot of parks nearby. As more people are moving in it would be nice to get some coffee shops, maybe a pharmacy and some beauty shops. There has been a few isuses with a postcode war going on but that’s all over London, really.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I haven’t really come across any surprises, it was all quite straightforward moving in and so on.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The maintenance workers themselves are nice and friendly but problems can take a while to get resolved which I think goes higher up.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good size apartment but issues with anti-social behaviour nearby

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

I’ve been living in my place 8 years now and it’s much better than my last place with more space to accommodate my family. There’s also a park nearby where I walk my dog and where my kids play. There are some issues with the park though, no lights and people drinking at night and in my block though rubbish is regularly collected people throw it about so I’ve had issues with pests.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There’s always police about and issues with drugs – there’s a horrible cannabis smell around my flat. For positives though it’s close to the station and and schools and there’s Sainsbury’s nearby. People are also friendly, lots of people around that I chat to.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The off license I used to go to for a paypoint and top ups isn’t there anymore so for things like that you have to walk to the high street.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Explore the area

About Countryside

Countryside is an award-winning UK property developer specialising in urban regenerations with a focus on green space and sustainability. Countryside…
Number of developments 12

4.01

Average rating based on 119 reviews

View company

About L&Q

L&Q – also known as London and Quadrant – is a housing association and residential developer that’s been operating for…
Number of developments 33

3.90

Average rating based on 318 reviews

View company